We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREATEST stay I've had in years!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Voyager Inn

Save Saved
You added The Voyager Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Voyager Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREATEST stay I've had in years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I must say,after coming to AK for over 5 years on business, this was my BEST trip yet! I should've started staying here years ago.......the gal at the front desk, (Pamela I believe) was ABSOLUTELY wonderful. Not only was she personable and attentive, but very familiar with the city and guided me where I need to go. Although the breakfast was a little more on the light side, I WILL be staing here again and reccomending this property to my colleagues.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing K street offers nice view of the inlet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    65
    20
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
58
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel fit our needs perfectly. We were just there for one night but it was one of the most comfortable stays in a hotel we have had. It was close to some great restaurants. The room was big and clean. The shaded blacked out the whole room in the middle of the day so we could rest after a long day of travel. The staff was very friendly and answered all our questions promptly. I would recommend this hotel for any say while in Anchorage.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here twice,two days coming into Alaska and one night before we had to leave. The main reason for the 4 stars is the location, it is an easy walk to most of the resturaunts in downtown. The breakfast bar is not great but serves the purpose. The staff is friendly and helpful. The only down side I noticed is that the hallway on the second floor smelled like musty smoke, maybe it was bacause it was real damp while we were there. The rooms however were very large and clean and we loved all the plug ins on the table for all of our cameras and computers. Would stay there again.
Paul L
Riverton Utah

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We flew into Anchorage and were pleasantly surprised with the complimentary shuttle which picked us up promptly after our phone call. When we arrived at the Rodeway Inn the desk clerk was very nice and cheerful. We were happy with our large, clean room and modern bathroom. Good location to main areas of Anchorage. Breakfast was a non-event and we missed it the second day as we weren't up and about in time. We missed the fact that there were no faculties but we went to the bar at The Captain Cook for a late night drink, so that was OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights, as we traveled independently and used Anchorage as a base. They graciously stored our luggage for overnights away. Staff went far beyond excellent to help us with a package delivery that arrived beyond our dates and forwarded it to our next stay. It was convenient to have the microwave and fridge for quick meals--more time spent exploring sites! The only down side is, as many have said, the weak continental breakfast. There were many restaurant options nearby, anyway. We got a great rate by pre-paying through their parent company. We just added protection to independent travel insurance, as we dud for the rest of the trip. It is in the heart of everything one would want to experience in Anchorage!

Room Tip: Away from Elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Anchorage being, Anchorage, the Rodeway Inn was one of the more affordable downtown Anchorage hotels that was within our price range. It still wasn't cheap! Rooms were very spacious, and the I certainly can't complain about he location - everything that we wanted was close by, and no more the 5-6 blocks walk away.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We chose this hotel based on its proximity to the Captain Cook, which was the hotel our Princess Cruisetour had us in. We had added 2 extra days in Anchorage to visit friends, and their price was nearly half what the Captain Cook wanted. I was impressed with the staff, the room was large, clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had A/C, and although the complementary continental breakfast was one of the sparsest we've ever encountered, it was great compared to NO free breakfast at the Captain Cook. The location is great, with an easy walk to the visitor's center with its free shuttles to area attractions, and to the shoreline trail system. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyager Inn

Address: 501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Voyager Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Voyager Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.