We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Voyager Inn to your Saves list
The Voyager Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here twice,two days coming into Alaska and one night before we had to leave. The main reason for the 4 stars is the location, it is an easy walk to most of the resturaunts in downtown. The breakfast bar is not great but serves the purpose. The staff is friendly and helpful. The only down side I noticed is that the hallway on the second floor smelled like musty smoke, maybe it was bacause it was real damp while we were there. The rooms however were very large and clean and we loved all the plug ins on the table for all of our cameras and computers. Would stay there again.
Paul L
Riverton Utah

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We flew into Anchorage and were pleasantly surprised with the complimentary shuttle which picked us up promptly after our phone call. When we arrived at the Rodeway Inn the desk clerk was very nice and cheerful. We were happy with our large, clean room and modern bathroom. Good location to main areas of Anchorage. Breakfast was a non-event and we missed it the second day as we weren't up and about in time. We missed the fact that there were no faculties but we went to the bar at The Captain Cook for a late night drink, so that was OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chipps09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights, as we traveled independently and used Anchorage as a base. They graciously stored our luggage for overnights away. Staff went far beyond excellent to help us with a package delivery that arrived beyond our dates and forwarded it to our next stay. It was convenient to have the microwave and fridge for quick meals--more time spent exploring sites! The only down side is, as many have said, the weak continental breakfast. There were many restaurant options nearby, anyway. We got a great rate by pre-paying through their parent company. We just added protection to independent travel insurance, as we dud for the rest of the trip. It is in the heart of everything one would want to experience in Anchorage!

Room Tip: Away from Elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hellenictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Anchorage being, Anchorage, the Rodeway Inn was one of the more affordable downtown Anchorage hotels that was within our price range. It still wasn't cheap! Rooms were very spacious, and the I certainly can't complain about he location - everything that we wanted was close by, and no more the 5-6 blocks walk away.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Gavin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We chose this hotel based on its proximity to the Captain Cook, which was the hotel our Princess Cruisetour had us in. We had added 2 extra days in Anchorage to visit friends, and their price was nearly half what the Captain Cook wanted. I was impressed with the staff, the room was large, clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had A/C, and although the complementary continental breakfast was one of the sparsest we've ever encountered, it was great compared to NO free breakfast at the Captain Cook. The location is great, with an easy walk to the visitor's center with its free shuttles to area attractions, and to the shoreline trail system. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAVRPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night in July, arriving in the early afternoon and departing for our cruise late the next day. Our room was fine, with a comfortable QS bed, and clean accomodations. The desk clerk was helpful when we arrived. But the continental breakfast the next morning was the worst we have had at any hotel/motel anywhere! The breakfast room was about 1/3 the size of our hotel room, and had only a toaster, some white bread, a few English muffins, and queasy looking fried danish. There was a coffee & OJ machine, but no milk. The only cereal was instant oatmeal--no corn flakes, wheat flakes, or anything else. No fruit either. Plus, there were only 4 chairs in the room, with none elsewhere available. The two "tables" were of the folding type, set up against the wall, one of which held the "food", so you really had no where to put your plate ---paper at that. When we asked the fellow in the office behind the front desk for some milk, he said there wasn't any, and then went back to his PC screen. He acted like he couldn't care less. Choice Hotels and Rodeway should be ashamed to say that they offer a continental breakfast here. Better that they offer nothing, and knock a few bucks off the price of the room, which was pretty steep to begin with.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjrpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redheadfamily
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here before and after our long flight in and out of Alaska. The hotel met our needs for a quick stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, nothing fancy or luxurious. The complimentary breakfast wasn't anything special but it satisfied our morning appetite before heading out to Denali. The location seems to be convenient to walking around Anchorage shops. If you are looking for a good value for a short stay in Anchorage than this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redheadfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Downtown
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#7 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#8 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#23 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#22 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#26 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Westmark Anchorage
#30 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyager Inn

Address: 501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Voyager Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Voyager Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing