We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, clean rooms, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Voyager Inn

Save Saved
You added The Voyager Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Voyager Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Large, clean rooms, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We flew into Anchorage and were pleasantly surprised with the complimentary shuttle which picked us up promptly after our phone call. When we arrived at the Rodeway Inn the desk clerk was very nice and cheerful. We were happy with our large, clean room and modern bathroom. Good location to main areas of Anchorage. Breakfast was a non-event and we missed it the second day as we weren't up and about in time. We missed the fact that there were no faculties but we went to the bar at The Captain Cook for a late night drink, so that was OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    59
    20
    11
    3
See reviews for
22
53
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights, as we traveled independently and used Anchorage as a base. They graciously stored our luggage for overnights away. Staff went far beyond excellent to help us with a package delivery that arrived beyond our dates and forwarded it to our next stay. It was convenient to have the microwave and fridge for quick meals--more time spent exploring sites! The only down side is, as many have said, the weak continental breakfast. There were many restaurant options nearby, anyway. We got a great rate by pre-paying through their parent company. We just added protection to independent travel insurance, as we dud for the rest of the trip. It is in the heart of everything one would want to experience in Anchorage!

Room Tip: Away from Elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Anchorage being, Anchorage, the Rodeway Inn was one of the more affordable downtown Anchorage hotels that was within our price range. It still wasn't cheap! Rooms were very spacious, and the I certainly can't complain about he location - everything that we wanted was close by, and no more the 5-6 blocks walk away.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We chose this hotel based on its proximity to the Captain Cook, which was the hotel our Princess Cruisetour had us in. We had added 2 extra days in Anchorage to visit friends, and their price was nearly half what the Captain Cook wanted. I was impressed with the staff, the room was large, clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had A/C, and although the complementary continental breakfast was one of the sparsest we've ever encountered, it was great compared to NO free breakfast at the Captain Cook. The location is great, with an easy walk to the visitor's center with its free shuttles to area attractions, and to the shoreline trail system. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night in July, arriving in the early afternoon and departing for our cruise late the next day. Our room was fine, with a comfortable QS bed, and clean accomodations. The desk clerk was helpful when we arrived. But the continental breakfast the next morning was the worst we have had at any hotel/motel anywhere! The breakfast room was about 1/3 the size of our hotel room, and had only a toaster, some white bread, a few English muffins, and queasy looking fried danish. There was a coffee & OJ machine, but no milk. The only cereal was instant oatmeal--no corn flakes, wheat flakes, or anything else. No fruit either. Plus, there were only 4 chairs in the room, with none elsewhere available. The two "tables" were of the folding type, set up against the wall, one of which held the "food", so you really had no where to put your plate ---paper at that. When we asked the fellow in the office behind the front desk for some milk, he said there wasn't any, and then went back to his PC screen. He acted like he couldn't care less. Choice Hotels and Rodeway should be ashamed to say that they offer a continental breakfast here. Better that they offer nothing, and knock a few bucks off the price of the room, which was pretty steep to begin with.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redheadfamily
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here before and after our long flight in and out of Alaska. The hotel met our needs for a quick stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, nothing fancy or luxurious. The complimentary breakfast wasn't anything special but it satisfied our morning appetite before heading out to Denali. The location seems to be convenient to walking around Anchorage shops. If you are looking for a good value for a short stay in Anchorage than this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Super clean and modern room half the price as other hotels. Microwave and Fridge. Excellent views. Hotel was in walking distance to downtown mall, shops and events. Hotel desk staff very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping staff was excellent and very quick and attententive. Free overnight parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyager Inn

Address: 501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Voyager Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Voyager Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Voyager Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.