We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Anchorage Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 East 6th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at the Anchorage Sheraton for 3 nights. The hotel is downtown and within walking distance of bars, restaurants, the downtown mall, the coastal walkng/cycling trails, and parks. Its not quite as central as the Hilton/Captain Cook, but its fine. The room was large, clean and recently renovated. Very comfortable bed, warm, hospitable staff and a nice fitness centre with views of downtown Anchorage. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear W1000,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for posting a review from your visit on Tripadvisor. I am so very happy that you had a great stay with us. Thanks too for commenting on our convenient location, warm/hospitable team members, and our large, clean and comfortable guest rooms. All of us at the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel and Spa are committed to providing exceptional service in a clean and well maintained environment. It's nice to hear back from guests that we are doing a good job.

I will be sure to share your comments/compliments with our entire team.

We look forward to serving as your hosts again very soon.

Thank you again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    234
    147
    49
    39
See reviews for
103
192
79
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a standard King on the 14th floor (We're Starwood Rewards members) and this had to be one of the best beds we ever slept in! Their breakfasts are not included in the price but are good - recommend ordering off the menu rather than the buffet. There's nothing special about the buffet and it's more pricey than it should be for a buffet. While the menu selections are a smaller breakfast, they do a good job and the helpings of bacon were oversize! There wasn't much to the rest of the hotel and the price we actually paid was around $180/night. We thought that was a little more expensive than it should have been but the real shocker was the listed room standard rate on the door - in excess of $300/night! If that's real, it's so far out of line that I couldn't imagine staying here for that price. It really can't be classified as a luxury hotel. Also, the area right around the hotel is a little on the seedy side and you're not really in the main downtown area - about a 10 minute walk away. There's no swimming pool and the spa seems way overpriced and sort of out of character with the Anchorage experience.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view but the higher the better. Standard rooms are a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Wberckmann,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a review on tripadvisor. We appreciate your commenting on our super comfortable beds, and breakfast in Jade. All of us at the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel and Spa are committed to providing exceptional guest service in a clean/well maintained facility. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to the team.

We look forward to serving as your hosts again very soon.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was an excellent hotel! Stayed two nights to explore a little around Anchorage and Seward areas. Check in was warm, courteous and welcoming. All staff seemed willing to help and provide information as needed, and were always welcoming and smiling as you wandered in and out of the hotel. It is located at the eastern end of the city center. It was a 15 minute walk over to 4th Avenue, which seems to be the hub of activity, nightlife and cafes, restaurants, and many tourist shops. The Anchorage Museum is very close (5-6 minutes walk), and it is a wonderful place to visit. The exhibits are excellent, and provide great insights into the history and development of Anchorage, and its contemporary role in Alaska. Our room was a club room suite on the 11th floor. It was excellent. So spacious and comfortable, and surrounded by windows which gave a great panorama over the mountains (on one side) and to the water on the other. It was a great viewing place to experience the changing light – sunset and sunrise which took place in a couple of hours! We had access to the Club Lounge, which provided ample selection of drinks,some hot food, nibbles and fresh fruit. This room too provided great views over the city. We took breakfast in the main restaurant "Jade" in the lobby. This was abundant – courteous friendly staff here, and good food. Excellent fitness center on 12th floor with marvelous views over the city as you hit the treadmill!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear WorldTraveller08901,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a review on tripadvisor. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We appreciate your commenting on your Club Floor room & experience, the amazing views, our exceptional staff and convenient location. All of us at the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel and Spa are committed to providing exceptional guest service in a clean/well maintained facility. It's gratifying to read your review. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to the team.

We look forward to serving as your hosts again very soon.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokneam Moshava
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We came with a tour, so had almost no interface with the reception and the stuff.
The place was good, nice views from the 15th floor over the city and across the inlet.
It was nice to have a good wi-fi for a change.
Everything was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Ophir B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post a review from your stay on tripadvisor. I am very pleased that you had a "good" visit. Thank you so much for commenting on the amazing views, and our exceptional WIFI service.

I hope you enjoyed your tour of Alaska.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A good price, comfortable, happy to check me in efficiently at 1:00am when I landed. Good location, would definitely recommend. I don't know what else to write, I came, I slept, I left -- and all was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear MikeLudin,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post a review from your stay on tripadvisor. I am very happy that you enjoyed your (too brief) visit with us. Thank you so much for commenting on our great location, efficient team members and for the recommendation.

I hope you had a great time on your cruise.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I'll never stay at a Sheraton hotel again - especially the Anchorage one! After being awoken by a god awful noise in the next room at 2:00 AM. I asked the night attendant who was standing in the hall what the noise was and why at which point he shrugged his shoulders. I looked in the door of the room and saw a maid in the room cleaning the bathroom. I called down to the front desk and asked why they needed to clean the room next to mine and make noise doing it? There reply was they were sorry for the inconvenience but their hotel does 24 hour maid service and there was nothing they could do about it since it was a managerial policy. DUMB!

If profit and cost cutting is at the expense of customer satisfaction then this hotel will not be in business long!

Don't stay here if you want a quiet nights sleep!!

Room Tip: A room at the Anchorage Hilton is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Rod M,

Thank you for posting a review from your visit on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry to learn that your sleep was disturbed by noise from the room attendant cleaning the adjacent room. We do offer 24 hour housekeeping service at our hotel. Anchorage is a very unique destination in that many of the flights into and out of the city are not until midnight or later. We do our best to accommodate folks who are leaving late...by allowing them to stay in the rooms as long as possible before heading to the airport. We then need to make sure those rooms are ready for our late arriving guests. I feel terrible that your sleep was disturbed.

All of us at the Sheraton Anchorage Hotel and Spa are committed to providing exceptional service and a clean, well maintained environment for our guests. I feel awful that your experience has caused you to have such a poor opinion of our property and operations.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly so that I may gather some more specific details about your visit. I realize that you are busy, but hope that you might find the time to discuss your stay with me so that we are best able to improve from your experience.

My direct line at the hotel is 907-343-3143, or you may email me at jon.kranock@sheratonanchorage.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encounter Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We did not stay at the Sheraton, but we did call in and ask permission to go to the top to see the view, as the hotel is the tallest building in it's vicinity. The desk clerk politely referred us to their Head of Security (Jeff Fisher) who was nearby, and he graciously escorted our group of four to the top floor, stayed with us while we took photos, and then invited us back at 10:30 pm to see the sunset. When we returned, with the same friendly reception, he took us back to the top floor and waited with us while the sun went down. Thank you, Jeff, your courtesy has been noted.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonKranock, General Manager at Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear John E,

Thank you for taking the time to post a note from your visit to our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am so glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the spectacular views from our hotel. Thank you for recognizing the exceptional service provided by our front desk and security team members. I will be sure to pass along your thanks and compliments.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Anchorage Hotel

Address: 401 East 6th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Anchorage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel & Spa is a luxury lodging with amenities like Ice Spa, a delicious restaurant, and 24,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're near Elmendorf AFB, Sullivan Arena, and Alaska Railroad ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Anchorage
Anchorage Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Anchorage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.