We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean & quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Portland, Oregon, Usa
2 reviews
“Good location, clean & quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel is clean and in a good location. stayed for one night. The room on the third floor contained comfortably 5 people including roll-away bed. Breakfast was on the second floor of the hotel in a restaurant and included three options (not something to write home about). friendly staff. more advantages of this hotel: check-out at 12:00 and there is an option to do laundry.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for doing a review for us. We appreciate your business and hope you enjoyed your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    81
    44
    13
    9
See reviews for
61
47
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our flight was delayed on the day and arrived at Anchorage around 12:30am in the early morning. The hotel is just several miles to the airport. When we arrive there, there is person on duty and we get into the room very fast. The beds are comfortable and room is clean. We just stayed one night and leave early in the morning. They do have a restaurant but we do not have a chance to try the restaurant there. Overall speaking, nice and clean hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you choose Best Western in the future for your travel needs.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed there at the start of our visit and several nights at the end. The hotel is being renovated but is showing its age. Staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly when we needed to split our reservation into two pieces. The location is very central for day trips out of the city. Compared to other places we looked at, the price was very reasonable. We would stay there again when we come back to Anchorage.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. We appreciate your business and if you are ever in Anchorage we hope that you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was the worst value hotel in any hotel that we've stayed in over the past year or longer. The price was horrific, but some things that are commonly expected in most hotels these days (free newspaper, free breakfast), were not included. In addition, the staff was not particularly friendly, the parking lot was full of puddles, nobody offered to help with the door when we struggled to enter the building, and then there's that horrific lion in the lobby instead of something welcoming. SKIP THIS ONE, for sure!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review. I am sorry that our property did not meet your standards. We strive to make every guest feel welcome and we clearly did not do this in your case. You are right we do not have complimentary breakfast or newspaper but we do not advertise that we do. We have a full service restaurant with a full menu. As for the staff I will be passing along your comments and coaching them in the way that I expect guest to be treated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

While the hotel was across the street from the business I had to attend to, it is an older property with many facelifts over the years. The lobby area is quite small, the front desk staff is not bad, but not great. The room was quiet and appeared to be clean, but the bathtub/shower area was worn and the bed was very, very hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I hope you enjoyed your Alaska Vacation and we will look into the issues you had with the Wi Fi.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I booked this property though Alaska Air Vacations as part of a air, hotel, and car package. As one might guess, a summer trip to Alaska is not cheap and even sub-par hotels become very expensive. In this case though, the Hotel was very well appointed with a fridge, microwave, large flat screen TV, and free WiFi. On the negative side, the Hotel is a bit dated and could stand for a bit of renovation. Also, the WiFi was often sluggish but overall, an excellent value and the location was central for making my day trips. Would certainly recommend this property, esp. if you can get it at discount through a package deal as I did.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest thank you for doing a review for us. I will pass your comments along and address the issues you had.
Have a great day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We experienced a death in our family and spent 8 days at the Golden Lion. We usually stay at downtown hotels and stayed at this hotel because of its proximity to Providence Hospital. Spotless, spacious, nice, quiet, very comfortable room and beds. Very friendly, helpful staff. Didn't use the restaurant. Loved the mid-town location. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,
I am very sorry for your loss our thoughts are with your family at this difficult time. Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. We appreciate you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.