We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an arm-pit!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What an arm-pit!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very disappointing. I never expected to see a Best Western in this condition. Looked to me like the place was in the beginning stages of a remodel. They should NOT have been open during this time. There was mold in the bathroom and it looked like the walls had about 4 thick layers of paint on them. Ick.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Yes we are under renovation. Unfortunately there is no good time to do upgrades in a hotel that is not seasonal. We try to do everything we can to minimize the impact on our guest. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. As far as the issue in your room I have discussed this with staff because that is definitely not our standard. If you are ever in Anchorage in the future and would like to stay with us again to see the remodel completed please give me a call directly and I will make sure you are taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    86
    48
    14
    9
See reviews for
67
49
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel was in poor condition and looked like they ran out of money during a renovation. Finishes were torn up all over the place, plastic was hanging behind the front desk, elevators feel old and shady, and stairwells do not extend to the ground floor.
The available "high speed" Internet was maxed out at 500 MBps and was not able to maintain a connection. For comparison my LTE cell phone could get 20 GBps in my room.
There were frequently intoxicated guests in the hallways at all hours of the night and the place felt like a halfway house for rehab patients.
I do not recommend staying here to anyone. Pay the extra $10 and go down the street to another hotel

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Yes we in the middle of an extensive renovation. Unfortunately there is never a good time to do such things. We are replacing all public space flooring, New furniture and bedding packages in our rooms. Completely updating our lobby. We hope to be completely done by the end of March.

As for the other issue you mentioned I will address them with staff and get them addressed. If you are ever in Anchorage again I would like to invite you back to see the finished product and I am confident you would be more satisfied. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will make sure you are well taken care of.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a good place to stay in Anchorage. I consider the location to be good access to midtown and the Seward highway. They were remodeling while I was there, but everything went smooth. The billing was a little weird, but worked out right.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review for us. I hope if you are in Anchorage again you will choose to stay with us we appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Not a 5 star hotel or anything but for the price you cant beat the vaule. Free in room WiFi, nice flat screen tv in the room with lots of channels. On site restaurant. My only issue is that everytime I stay there I reccomend the room hotel guide to be updated and it never is updated. It still has phone listings for TWA airlines and Continental for instance

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for doing a review for us. I will look into why they have not taken that out of the guest directories. Thank you for pointing it out and sorry it had not been passed on when you did before.

I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Anchorage.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the end of a 10 day vacation that had stretched from Seward to Denali National Park. Perfect choice! Able to easily get anywhere around Anchorage. Curtains provided good light blocking so we could sleep (not used to those 11pm sunsets!). The on site lounge provided a place to relax and the staff was very friendly. Room was well maintained, and small frig was convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review for us. It sounds like you had a nice vacation. I hope if you are ever in Anchorage you will choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I spent about 30 nights there - it was all good. Personnel were properly attentive and helpful. The elevator was a little slow and the shower water pressure was a little low. But everything else was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. We appreciate you staying with us while in Anchorage.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is really well located and easy to find (not too central and central enough to be surrounded by shops and restaurants. The housekeeping staff is really friendly, but don't expect a great service from the front desk clerks. Overall I still had a great stay because a great time in Anchorage.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#10 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#14 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.