We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Clean Hotel but Shows its Age” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Columbus Ohio
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Good Clean Hotel but Shows its Age”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel is clean and I felt safe. The hotel looks old and staff are not bad, but not very helpful either. The location is fine but not the best. There is plenty of parking and its right off the main highway. The lobby looks good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    80
    44
    12
    8
See reviews for
61
47
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The fact that this hotel is close to the airport makes it a great pick for late arrivals. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. We were most impressed with the restaurant in the hotel. The breakfasts were delicious and being in the hotel made it very convenient. We'll definitely be booking another stay when we return to Anchorage next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Although i don't think this is a new hotel by any means, the rooms are clean and comfortable with good Internet access as well. Its in a convenient location that is not too far from the airport or anywhere you may want to get to in Anchorage. They also have some interesting wildlife decor in the lobby that we took some fun pictures with!

There is a little restaurant on the second floor that really surprised and impressed me. We went up there to get breakfast and I was expecting the standard blah-blah pancakes and small bacon strips burnt to a crisp. When my food came out the pancakes were perfectly cooked and browned and had some nice thick bacon strips cooked just the way I requested them! It was actually on par with a Cracker Barrel breakfast. Even the coffee was really good.

I would recommend this hotel, and we are heading back for another overnight stay next year on our next trip to Anchorage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is why Best Western is so popular. Standard was above average for a BW hotel. The rooms were clean, spacious and the bed comfortable. Breakfast facility was a little disappointing with a voucher system where I wasnt quite sure what I was allowed to order.
Would stay again next time I'm in Anchorage.

Room Tip: Its quite a way from downtown area so if you are planning on shopping, restaurants etc would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Always a pleasure knowing we are staying at Best Western, it is like being home. We are treated like family and have a wonderful time. The staff is always willing to give us advice when we need it. The breakfast was soooo good. We look forward to coming back in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Upon arriving at the Golden Loin the property was neatly maintained and welcoming. I found the staff to be even more welcoming and highly accommodating to my needs. My room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. I also greatly enjoyed the food at the restaurant, it was very high quality and well prepared. I will be choosing the Golden Lion for all my futures Anchorage business trips!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. I am pleased that we were able to meet your needs and hope that you would consider staying with us again if you return to our beautiful state in the future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place is badly dated and needs renovations now. The rooms are clean, but floor and bed have a nasty feel to them. Beds are very uncomfortable. Shower is OK only because of the great water pressure. Couldn't hear any noise from other rooms, just hallway. Staff failed to tell me that the state is doing highway work right in front of the hotel at night M - F. It was loud and I got no sleep. Was told this would be going on for 2 months. Beware. And Erica at the front desk is one of the rudest persons I have every meet. Don't understand how Lisa, the manager, let's her keep her job. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that we did not meet your needs during your stay, We are doing interior upgrades to the hotel this fall and winter to give our guest a better experience. My goal is for myself and my employees to provide superior customer service to all our guest and I am sorry you feel that we did not deliver this on your stay. Thank you for taking the time to do a survey and I will pass your comments on to my team so that we can make improvements where needed.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#15 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.