We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to the Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Convenient to the Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The fact that this hotel is close to the airport makes it a great pick for late arrivals. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. We were most impressed with the restaurant in the hotel. The breakfasts were delicious and being in the hotel made it very convenient. We'll definitely be booking another stay when we return to Anchorage next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    108
    55
    14
    9
See reviews for
77
59
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Although i don't think this is a new hotel by any means, the rooms are clean and comfortable with good Internet access as well. Its in a convenient location that is not too far from the airport or anywhere you may want to get to in Anchorage. They also have some interesting wildlife decor in the lobby that we took some fun pictures with!

There is a little restaurant on the second floor that really surprised and impressed me. We went up there to get breakfast and I was expecting the standard blah-blah pancakes and small bacon strips burnt to a crisp. When my food came out the pancakes were perfectly cooked and browned and had some nice thick bacon strips cooked just the way I requested them! It was actually on par with a Cracker Barrel breakfast. Even the coffee was really good.

I would recommend this hotel, and we are heading back for another overnight stay next year on our next trip to Anchorage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Level Contributor
246 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is why Best Western is so popular. Standard was above average for a BW hotel. The rooms were clean, spacious and the bed comfortable. Breakfast facility was a little disappointing with a voucher system where I wasnt quite sure what I was allowed to order.
Would stay again next time I'm in Anchorage.

Room Tip: Its quite a way from downtown area so if you are planning on shopping, restaurants etc would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Always a pleasure knowing we are staying at Best Western, it is like being home. We are treated like family and have a wonderful time. The staff is always willing to give us advice when we need it. The breakfast was soooo good. We look forward to coming back in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Upon arriving at the Golden Loin the property was neatly maintained and welcoming. I found the staff to be even more welcoming and highly accommodating to my needs. My room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. I also greatly enjoyed the food at the restaurant, it was very high quality and well prepared. I will be choosing the Golden Lion for all my futures Anchorage business trips!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. I am pleased that we were able to meet your needs and hope that you would consider staying with us again if you return to our beautiful state in the future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place is badly dated and needs renovations now. The rooms are clean, but floor and bed have a nasty feel to them. Beds are very uncomfortable. Shower is OK only because of the great water pressure. Couldn't hear any noise from other rooms, just hallway. Staff failed to tell me that the state is doing highway work right in front of the hotel at night M - F. It was loud and I got no sleep. Was told this would be going on for 2 months. Beware. And Erica at the front desk is one of the rudest persons I have every meet. Don't understand how Lisa, the manager, let's her keep her job. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that we did not meet your needs during your stay, We are doing interior upgrades to the hotel this fall and winter to give our guest a better experience. My goal is for myself and my employees to provide superior customer service to all our guest and I am sorry you feel that we did not deliver this on your stay. Thank you for taking the time to do a survey and I will pass your comments on to my team so that we can make improvements where needed.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This Best Western is convenient in location ,clean and with a friendly, competent staff. The facility isn't luxurious but is more than adequate with reasonably large rooms. The location next to Rt 1 means there is road noise but access to the city is easy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I hope you enjoyed your visit to our wonderful state.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anchorage
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
2.1 mi away
GuestHouse Anchorage Inn
GuestHouse Anchorage Inn
#34 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#22 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#12 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#14 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, Orbitz, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.