We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Golden Lion Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Western Golden Lion Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Friendly staff, large rooms, and very convenient freeway access. Arthur at the front desk was very nice and helpful. We stayed there twice during our visit because Anchorage was our base. Stayed in two different rooms. Our flight was late at night, so when I talked to Arthur he let us stays few more hours after the checkout time that gave us few more hours of rest.
Good internet access and laundry room in the same building. Staff is very helpful if you ask questions about the places to eat, directions, or tourist attractions.

Cons: Rooms do have a musty old smell. Condition of the bathroom is not that good. The first room we stayed in the shower was not in a good shape and second room's bathroom sink knob was really really hard to use. We were there only for one night the second time so we managed.

I would recommend this hotel for the location and value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    77
    42
    11
    8
See reviews for
58
46
16
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Firebaugh, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice staff, large rooms, easy freeway access but still quiet. Was warned about smoking and had to sign a no smoking promise but my room smelled like smoke. Shower had mildew, yuck. Good internet access. Plenty of room for 3 adults with extra restrooms down the hall by the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Room size was good, and staff were very helpful. Some issues that we had: (1)Room airconditioner was not effective since the curtain was covering the vents of the airconditioner. Result was that the curtain was billowing and we could not pull it aside since that would make the room too bright to sleep in the bright evening sun! (2)The carpet was very sticky near the dresser and it is NOT the maids fault since they wear shoes all the time and would not have known that the previous guest had spilt something. (3) Breakfast quality was poor, especially the rubbery pancakes and the half cooked sausage. Considering the fact that this was NOT a free breakfast and we were paying very good money for this, the least they could do was cook well? (4) Hotel entrance/exit was a problem. It looked as though we could exit from an area just beyond the front porch and we stopped in time otherwise we would have dropped from a curb. The hotel should have some barrier at that spot since we later saw other vehicles going bang-clunk-oops and damaging their undercarriage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Older motel and adequate nice sized rooms with no fluffs. Staff were nice but not the most pleasant. No hot water, so expect a luke warm shower. Sink and bathroom are off of the main room which is nice. There are better places in Anchorage for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Best Western Golden Lion, one night when we arrived in Anchorage and one night just before flying out. We had very comfortable & clean rooms, the staff was very friendly and helpful and we also loved the convenient location between the airport and downtown. We did enjoy dinner there the night we were flying home and the food was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bartlesville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

For the price - it is an older hotel and you can tell but the rooms were clean and did not smell like smoke. The staff was friendly and there were cabs readily available. I did not try the lounge. The water pressure was soft and checkin was slow otherwise pretty good stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

my resevation was for a non-smoking room and I was given a non-smoking room, for which someone had smoked. I complained at the desk and was upgraded to a non-smoking suite. The staff did a great jobn correcting the situation, but being a platnuin member and checking in late at night, I feel this should have never happened in the first place. I was tired and the last thing I wanted to do was relocate...or even take all my stuff back down to the desk to be relocated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
I appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us. We are a 100% non smoking hotel and we do charge a $500.00 fee for anyone choosing to ignore that policy. I will look into the situation that you encountered and find out how it happened in the first place. We strive to have all our rooms fresh and clean for every guest and you are right this should not have happened in the first place. There should not ever be a need for a guest to have to change rooms after their arrival.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#11 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#16 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.