We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
North Pole, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had no problems with reservations, the room and bathroom was clean. The only complaint was we had a room at the opposite end of the hallway from the elevator, made a long walk carrying heavy suitcases. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a survey on our behalf. I am glad that we were able to meet your needs and hope you come stay with us again. Just let us know that you would like to be close to the elevator and we will be happy to accomidate you.

Thank you agian for staying wth us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    63
    37
    9
    8
See reviews for
49
33
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am a frequent guest at the BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel in Anchorage and can tell you that the staff treats you like you are family. The hotel is very clean and has recently up-date the exterior, interior and WIFI in the rooms. It is located close to down town and both military bases. I’ve been staying at the BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel for the past three years at least once a month on business and think it’s a great place to stay. Take the chance I know you’ll like it.

Room Tip: Simple just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to do a survey for us. We always look forward to having you stay with us again. We are glad you feel at home here and we are very thankful that you continue to choose to bring your buisness back to us. We know you have many choices in Anchorage and we appreciate that you continue to return.

Thank you again for your buisness,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikiski, Alaska
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Other than having some complications on the booking end, it was a great place to stay. Unfortunately, I had to change the date of arrival and rather than call the 800 general booking number I called the hotel directly. Apparently a bunch of wires got crossed (an expression meaning that the situation of re-booking another date was not communicated properly).
Boy, that was a big hassle but eventually things got ironed out (a saying which means that my problem was solved).
The Golden Lion is very easy to find, right off of one of the main drags in Anchorage. It is close to a Denny's Restaurant that is open 24/7. It's got an all night fitness room. I enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: I would advise you that if you need to change your reservation to call the same people whom your res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I was on a group booking so got a discount on the tariff so for what I paid it was reasonable etc. I would have possibly been disappointed if I paid the advertised tariff. The no breakfast thing is tricky because you are a bit far from civilisation to get to other options quickly so buying in the hotel restaurant is the next best option - its not too bad but be ready for American meals - what has the same name as back home may be very different in this hotel (and America generally) and expect lots of sauce! No one seems to be around to help carry baggage, not matter how big it is. Reception staff were lovely and I found them very helpful on local attractions. The construction was in full swing when I was there but spent most time out of my room.

Room Tip: There are rooms away from the road, but again check if the construction is continuing if you plan to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just stayed here for the night. There was construction going on. No breakfast - not even continental. You had to buy in the restaurant. The room was basic, slightly larger than what I had expected. The service was ok. When I had to lug my suitcases, a couple of guys from the working staff just stood and watched! Would have been nice to offer to help, even if I could have refused anyway! But then again.. it is a Best Western!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Spent 3 nights there.
This is the only BW I know which doesn't have breakfast included, but still charging $200 per night. Also no pool/hot tub.
The room was spacious, beds comfortable, no problems with the service.
They keep it very warm inside, so we had to use AC all the time.

Also they have construction going outside now between 8am-4pm, so don't plan on sleeping at that time.
And be careful driving out from the parking lot.

Room Tip: East side - away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Even while being renovated, the staff worked hard to keep everything clean. The front desk was VERY helpful in accommodating us as we kept adding nights on.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.