We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and worn out” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Anchorage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Anchorage to your Saves list
Ramada Anchorage
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   115 East Third Street, Barrow and 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Tikøb
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dirty and worn out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Staid here 4 nights on three different occasions during our 19 days trip in Alaska. This was the only hotel that was not OK. The staff are friendly and helpful, but the rooms are dirty and worn out. The windows and curtains looked like they have not seen water in the last couple of years. If the hotel had not been prepaid we would have left it after the first night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    139
    122
    62
    21
See reviews for
79
166
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

First off the staff are just incredible. Very friendly, lots of advice on where to stay and what to do and not just in Anchorage, all over Alaska! The room and property is older and it shows as a bit tired but it was clean and comfortable. The hallways looked a bit more updated so the property may be going through a remodel over some time. The A/C did work but it had to work hard although it was also the hottest summer in 10 years so go figure. Breakfast was either the continental for free or a voucher towards a hot sit down breakfast, nice option. The hotel shuttle took us to meet up with our bus to Seward at 6am which was terrific and unexpected. Compared with other comparable properties in Anchorage we would stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice average hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Our room faced the harbor area and the hotel is close to the train station, so we heard the train whistle quite often and the sounds coming from the harbor. Mattress was a big saggy and the bottom sheet was not a fitted sheet, just a flat sheet laid over the mattress so it tended to bunch up. Breakfast buffet was fine for me. Within walking distance of the 4th & 5th Avenue shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were a little leery about the location of the motel, but the downtown location was fine. Room was clean, free shuttle(s) from the airport and the next day to the Convention Center were convenient, front desk staff were friendly and helpful, free continental breakfast a bonus. No complaints, no problems. A decent budget choice.

Room Tip: We requested a king sized bed instead of two doubles. We now realize that king sized bed rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The rooms are what you would expect from a mid-range chain hotel; the breakfast like many others at this type of hotel. No complaints about room or bathroom. Adequate and a good price, but what set it apart was the service and the willingness of the staff to help out. We flew in from Juneau and had a ride to hotel – did not use shuttle. The hotel was conveniently located near the Sunday afternoon flea market, and we were able to walk to the downtown restaurants for meals. At check in, we arranged to be driven to train station for the Golden Dome train to Denali the next morning. Woke up early to find that my husband needed some allergy/sinus medicine before we were off to Denali. We needed to leave by 7:30 for the train. Around 5:30 am, I went downstairs to find a pharmacy I could walk to. Long story short, too far to walk in that time frame and neighborhood there, too sketchy, so they drove me to that 24 hr store. They made sure that they got me back in time to get dressed, have breakfast, check out and make the train with the peace of mind we needed to enjoy the beauty of Alaska. Many thanks!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Motel was great staff was great but restaurant, Slippery Salmon was a bad experience. Waited over an hour for our food then instead of discounting our food or something they brought food we did not order because ours was not ready. next morning got breakfa

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Anchorage

Address: 115 East Third Street, Barrow and 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Motel
Anchorage Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.