We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Anchorage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Anchorage to your Saves list
Ramada Anchorage
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   115 East Third Street, Barrow and 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This place is run down. It's an old building which needs a complete makeover. Amazing what you can do on web pictures. Air conditioner cover was falling off, furniture in room was beat up, carpets dirty, fitted bed sheet old & didn't fit, breakfast buffet was not stocked. Not value for your money even for Anchorage which is expensive. Staff were friendly. They provided free shuttle to & from airport and to the Marriott which we stayed the next night.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street & parking lot are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    139
    122
    62
    21
See reviews for
79
166
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I called the hotel the day before we left since we would be arriving on a redeye to confirm our late check-in and I was told that was no problem When the shuttle from the hotel picked us up,l we were informed that they were overbooked and didn't have a room for us. They arranged for us to have rooms at another hotel (that did not have as many accommodations), but they never refunded the money we had pre-paid on the room of over $300 dollars when we reserved it 6 months prior!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We were given a map and any help we needed in finding things to see and do around Anchorage. Our room was a good size and clean. There is a laundry which is great when making a long trip and free wifi. As far as 'free' breakfasts go it was far superior to any others we had tried. There was also plenty of parking for our car. The restaurant attached to the hotel was very good and very convenient after a day of sightseeing. My only problem was that I left a few items behind - my fault I know, but I did email the hotel, hoping that they could be returned but did not recieve a response.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skagway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

But I don't think it's nearly as bad as other reviews may lead you to think. Disclaimer - I was put up in this hotel by an airline that cancelled a flight, and I was given a much larger room than I would have ordinarily purchased. So not paying for a nice room may be coloring my judgement somewhat. However as another reviewer said "The atmosphere introduces you to Alaska...it's not about the accommodations, it's about the sites and scenery." This is so very true as you travel around the State. Most lodging up here is just fine, and the view outside the windows usually more than makes up for the view inside. The rooms here at this Ramada are dated - but the bed was comfy and the staff very friendly and competent. You can hear the trains, but there is a great view of the Cook Inlet, and you are only a couple of blocks off downtown attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Room was spacious and clean, but we were upgraded to a suite. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The bed was ok, not great. There was no A/C andthe room got a little hot. We used the included fan and it made the room better. Leaving the window open was even better, but there was quite a bit of morning noise. The breakfast was great. We ate at the restaurant attached to the hotel and it was awesome, one of our best meals, which is difficult because I am a vegetarian but the husband is not. The waitress there was not very attentive, but the meal was good enough for us to overlook that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Il
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The place is very worn and tired giving it that seedy feeling. Room was dark and depressing. It was adequate and convenient to the museum, but doubtful I would return here. Guest laundry and breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is a no frills, somewhat worn, yet clean kind of place. The breakfast was great. This was fine for a one night stay before we joined our two week Alaskan tour. The atmosphere introduces you to Alaska...it's not about the accommodations, it's about the sites and scenery.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Anchorage

Address: 115 East Third Street, Barrow and 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Motel
Anchorage Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.