We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Auspicious Start To Vacation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westmark Anchorage

Save Saved
You added Westmark Anchorage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Auspicious Start To Vacation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was part of the cruise package from Holland America. While the employees couldn't have been nicer the hotel itself was not up to par. The property is in need of a major overhaul. It is tired and needs to be updated. We could not understand why our room was freezing cold when we arrived. We soon found out. The carpet that goes from the sink area into the tub area was soaking wet. The smell of mold permeated the room once we turned the thermostat up. The hotel had soap, shampoo and conditioner in dispensers in the shower but the body lotion was half full and the bottle was dirty. The hash or pound key was missing on the phone and it was the only phone in the room. I didn't think Anchorage would be so rustic. The staff said we could change rooms but it was late and we were tired after traveling for 10 plus hours. It was only a night. We couldn't wait to leave.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    102
    96
    54
    25
See reviews for
60
134
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night on our way to a Holland American Alaskan cruise. Thankfully I had read on Trip Advisor not to expect anything great. That was an understatement!!! This place is old and dingy, my sheets even had rips in them. It is in such dire need of an update. I only got through it as I knew it was for ONE NIGHT ONLY.

Room Tip: I understand the higher up you go the better - we were on the 12th floor. Had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I found the whole city of Anchorage not on my favorites list. The Westmark had spacious rooms and we had a great view of Cook inlet, but the room had a different configuration and the furniture was very old. Everything about this hotel could use a remodel and facelift. But the waiters and hotel staff were friendly and accommodating for our very short one day stay. Not sure if there is anything better in the area. Eateries on the streets around the hotel were prevalent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we, along with 2 other couples booked rooms (with confirmed reservation numbers) in March. flew in from boston, long day, checked in at 1:30 local time----not counting 4 hour time zone difference. other two couples....checked in no problem. we were told our room was cancelled by booking agency, Otell.com DON'T EVER USE THEM!!!! despite showing our printed confirmation, we were told the westmark had no room for us. it's now 2:00 a.m. luckily, Chris, the super friendly 6'8" front end night manager, worked some magic, despite a sold out house. room was fine, great location, walked easily to glacier brew pub, and great breakfast spot 3 blocks away...
without the extra effort of chris we would've been sleeping on the couch in the lobby!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has seen its best days and seems to be mostly used by cruise line passengers before or after their Alaska cruise.
Anchorage is a small city where ‘everything’ is within walking distance. So the high score for location is meaningless.
The rooms have an iron, ironing board and coffee maker but no fridge or safe. The latter probably means that most of those cruise line people are lugging their jewels inside their pockets and purses. Good thing that Anchorage is deemed a safe city.
I found the toilet pot curiously low; not easy for the elderly.
The rooms have a small balcony but no chairs. Which is just as well since the balustrade is flimsy.
I found the staff very helpful when we arrived for an early-check-in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANGER
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time we've stayed at this property as part of a Holland America cruise trip. The first time in 2011, we were pretty disappointed as the room was small and the property clearly needed updating. It didn't help that we'd stayed at Hotel Alyeska (only 5 star hotel in Alaska) the two nights before, so this was like staying at a Motel 6 in comparison. We actually asked our cruise consultant if there was another place they used, but this was the only choice. Our visit in May was very short as our flight arrived at 10:45 p.m. and by the time we finally got on the bus to be transported there, it must have been midnight. As our bodies were on Eastern Time, I was ready to fall over by the time we got to the room, so I can't say I really noticed the quality. Having to share a full-size bed with my knee injury meant I really didn't sleep the very few hours we had before boarding a bus at 8 a.m. for Seward. We ate in the restaurant, which like everything else in Alaska is extremely overpriced (breakfast was $48 including tip for 3 of us), but the continental version I had was very good and there were plenty of choices. The staff did a good job, but it's definitely a property below par for the rest of a Holland America experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was part of our land tour with Holland America. We came in two days earlier to see Anchorage before our tour started. Going in, we knew there were bad reviews on the hotel. However, rather than changing hotels we decided to just stay at the same hotel as the land tour. I had requested a high floor with a view of Mt McKinley. We got the fifth floor. Because of the fires and later the rain, we were not able to see the mountain. Room and hotel were adequate. It does need an update. Front desk staff was wonderful. They were friendly and helped us with our questions. We were told by our friends who live in Alaska that food is very expensive. We thought the buffet breakfast was overpriced ($18); but when you factor in that a McDonalds $1 value menu costs $1.50 in Alaska, then it's not so bad. That was our only meal at the hotel. We went down one block to Starbucks for one of our breakfasts and that was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westmark Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.