We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright--needs a facelift real soon.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westmark Anchorage

Save Saved
You added Westmark Anchorage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Wheaton, IL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Alright--needs a facelift real soon.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Like almost everyone here, we stayed at the Westmark as part of a Holland America Line cruise tour, in our case after disembarking from an 8-hour train ride from Denali. We were feeling somewhat whipped, naturally and looking forward to a night of rest before having to shove off by 7:30 the next morning. The hotel and the room was obviously past its better days and in need of some major renovation.

The room itself was clean enough, all things considered, and the bed was comfortable and there were decent chairs in the room for sitting around in the evening (a major consideration in my world). Like others we found the street noise very noticeable which limited the appeal of keeping the balcony door sliders open. Thankfully, the white noise provided by the room's ac/fan was enough to mask most of the sound as we tried to get to sleep.

Coming down to grab something quick the next morning the best we could do was grab a none-too-fresh bagel and coffee. The young man who worked the coffee area, however, was very accommodating and customer-friendly. Overall, the Westmark in Anchorage is a decent place to stay for a night, but without a major makeover I wouldn't pick it of my own accord, especially for a multi-night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    111
    111
    59
    27
See reviews for
76
149
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

After reading some reviews, I braced myself for a dismal hotel experience.
Actually, the Westmark was okay, but could be better with some more updating, especially the dismal dark corridors. We were, like most guests, ending our Holland America (HAL) Cruise Landtour in late June 2013. However, when I read competitor cruise lines such as Princess and RCI put their guests at 4-star hotels like the Marriott, I am much more critical of HAL & Westmark. I'd give 2 1/2 Stars. Considering Westmark Hotel is a subsidiary of HAL, I expected better overall quality. We had room #509 facing busy 5th Street. We felt this was better than the other corridor with a loud huge roaring ice machine standing in the hallway. Thankfully, our room had A/C; it was a hot 80 degrees in Anchorage. HAL let us down after a beautiful trip.

PROS: The room was clean, the bathroom newly renovated with a nice shower and tub. Water pressure good. The vanity sink was outside the shower/toilet room. Coffeemaker and hairdryer. Clean towels. Good size room. Okay view, even from the 5th floor. Room had two newish easy chairs. Decent lighting. The public areas on the main floor were clean and bright. Comfortable lobby, clean public ladies room, pleasant restaurant and bar area. Lobby has 3 computers with Internet access & a printer to get boarding passes etc. Decent cable TV selections. The Westmark is not luxurious but suitable and conveniently located. The Westmark staff was very helpful and friendly.

CONS: Hallways on the 5th floor were dark & dismal with low ceilings. Creepy, if a female solo traveler. I was relieved to see our room was better than the hallways. Yes, The Westmark is due for new mattresses but we slept fine. Bedspreads and carpeting may be new but look dated. The A/C drowned out the street noise. Room had an old sliding door with a balcony. Hard to close door if you opened it. The Westmark could use some newer sound proof, updated sliding doors/windows.

HAL should upgrade Westmark’s mattresses and corridors. HAL has its own basic lobby/entrance, which we used to wait for our airport shuttle and regroup after a day of walking. HAL staff very friendly.

On my own, I’d consider the newer Marriott, but it is near the bus station area and not as well located.

Anchorage Tips: Snow City Café for brunch, Ginger for Vegetarian/Asian Fusion, Nordstrom Café on 2nd Floor. ULU Factory store near the train depot has ULU knives, made in Alaska not China, and a free trolley from the Visitors Center. Polar Bear Outlet has good prices for touristy items.

Room Tip: High Floor. Hallways creepy and balcony sliding doors not well secured, may not be for a female sol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Centrally located downtown hotel in the busy tourist area with all modern facilities. Rooms are very spacious and clean and comfortable. service is good enough to make you smile. food is equally good though very good food is available down the corner in 4th avenue, 5th avenue and all over down town

Room Tip: ask for top most floor so that you can see Mount McKinley if you are lucky (on a clear day)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After learning of a tragedy at home, we had to cut our trip short and hurry home. HAL made certain that our room was ready early and extended our stay the next day so we would be comfortable while waiting for a flight. Tony Sauceda, Manager of Guest Services, watched over us and was always ready to do whatever he could to help. Everyone, from those at the reception desk to the cleaning staff, was friendly and understanding.
We also enjoyed the restaurant which was offering specials in the late afternoon-early evening. The prawns were great! The waitstaff friendly and helpful.
Great service, great location, clean rooms!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here overnight as part of HAL cruisetour. Great location right in the middle of downtown, close to the Log Cabin TI centre and Town Square and opposite the Glacier Brewhouse, yet within walking distance of the coast and the Tony Knowles Trail too. The staff is eager and extremely helpful and the restaurant has good food at reasonable prices.

Our room was clean and comfortable, with amazing views from our 11th floor balcony. Weirdly, like the Wind-song, Denali and Fairbanks properties, it had the washbasin outside of the bathroom! HOWEVER, the overall feel of the hotel is tired and worn and the room looked dated. Not sure if it was one of the rooms which had had a makeover, but if so I think they should sack their design team! It didn’t matter too much to us as we were only sleeping in the room for one night and left early the next morning to catch the train. This is a tired old property and not up to the usual standard of HAL.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for great views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My family and I checked into the Westmark Hotel in Anchorage. Where tired, had a very long flight, and my back hurts. I value great customer service especially when I feel my family is being taken care of, my wife asked Ashley a lady who workers at the front desk there for 4 bath clothes, 5 decaf coffee, 4 laundry bags, 5 paper cups, 4 tooth brushes, and a 6:00 am wake up call, then she asked for are room number and said, I will take care of this for you and bring it up to your room.. Enjoy your stay and welcome to the Westmark, we did not have to wait !!!! Are items almost beat us to are room .. The kids pushed the wrong floor anyways so far I'm glad we booked are stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of Holland America cruise. Our room was very nice, large and clean with a comfortable bed. We were on 4th floor, but the street noise was still quite disturbing. The hotel staff were so helpful. We had several needs which they went out of their way to accommodate. Raquel was especially thoughtful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westmark Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.