We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse Reception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westmark Anchorage

Save Saved
You added Westmark Anchorage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmark Anchorage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Penthouse Reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our organization held a reception in the Penthouse that was attended by more than 50 people. The room has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Port of Anchorage for a wonderful view that was complimented by the decor of the room. The catering menu choices were extensive and featured many Alaskan specialties allowing us to select food that our specific crowd would enjoy. Our guests moved around the room visiting the bar, buffet table, conversation and seating areas with ease. Upon our arrival the staff completed last minute details efficiently, and continued to be attentive to our wishes all evening. They did everything we asked and more to make our event a success.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Julie

It was a pleasure to Host your function and to have many of the Crew of the newly Commissioned USS Anchorage come visit the Hotel and take in your wonderful reception for them and the great view from the Penthouse, it really is a great place to have a party or meeting. On the behalf of all of the Team here at the Westmark Anchorage Hotel we thank you for chosing us to be part of your Gathering.

Yours respectfully

Kevin Batters

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    102
    97
    54
    25
See reviews for
61
134
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I'm sure that back in the day this hotel was one of the best. Our room was very spacious, but the bed needed replacing badly. There was a great view of Turnagain Arm from our balcony, but the railing was wobbly and my husband didn't feel safe. Had it not been part of the "tour" we purchased, we would have stayed elsewhere.

Room Tip: The higher your floor, the better the view. Get up in time to catch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Kristin

I see that you stayed with us last June 2012, I was not here at that time but I can tell you that since then the Hotel has renovated many of its rooms and replaced all of the Beds, we are curently just finishing up 3 more floors. I am sorry your stay was not all you and I hoped it would have been and I would like to ask you that when next you plan on returning to Anchorage Alaska you give the Westmark Anchorage another try and I will personally do everything I can to ensure your stay is enjoyable.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I'm sitting here in my room now, thought it would be a good time to write this review. You see the pictures of the flat screen TV, and the updated looks of the carpet and bedding and think "OK not bad" but the truth is that the 11th,12th,and 13 floors which have been renovated wont be ready for an undisclosed amount of time. You get to your room and fin an outdated cramped little room with a TV from the early 90s hard beds, crap furniture, and an overall tacky feel. The only reason im even here is because the room is free. Priceline a three star and stay at a better hotel for almost half the price.

Room Tip: If your lucky enough to be making reservations when the updates are done make sure you rewuest the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Lisa

Obviously we did not seem to live up to your expectations and I am truly sorry this was the case, I will check to see what room you were in as most of our Rooms have a flat screen T.V not just the three floors that we are renovating. I do hope that when next you come to Anchorage you stay with us and I ask that you let me know when you are coming and I will personally make sure we take good care of you and that your stay here at the Westmark Hotel will be enjoyable.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Freeport, Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've now stayed at the Westmark three times and appreciate it as (a) good value for the money and (b) good location. It's not fancy, but it's clean and has all the amenities. There are a couple of good restaurants across the street and most offices you might be doing business with are within walking distance, as is the excellent Anchorage Museum (definitely worth half a day).

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have balconies, which is a great way to escape that feeling that you're in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mason M

Thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Hotel, it is true so many of our guests feel that this is the perfect Hotel to stay at as we are so conveniently located. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and the personal attention we give to each of our guests here, so it was a little dissapointing to us that you gave us just a 3 rating but we hope that when you next visit us we can show more improvements and strive for the 5 rating that we try to give to all of our guests, thank you again for your business all of us here really appreciate you staying with us as a repeat guest.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is an outdated hotel that still has 1970's look and feel- they likely haven't renovated since the pipeline was built. Carpet isn't shag, but close. Beds are hard, the bedding is cheap and thin, the rooms are tight and crowded, and the furniture upholstery is rough tweedy polyester. No bathrobes in the rooms. The lobby smells and the restaurant is really poor. . Heating/AC is a wall unit that is loud and not particularly effective. At least it was clean, and they changed the towels daily. There is free wi-fi, although it's incredibly slow. The best part about the hotel is its location, central to downtown Anchorage, and close to some decent eateries and a Starbucks, because you don't want to have to eat there. Bring you old leisure suit and wide-collared shirts and you're right at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear SRG2327
I appreciate your constructive comments regarding the room that you stayed in, I am happy to tell you that we are renovating many of the rooms and will have them completed in the near future, the style of the public area's is more of a Alaska feel and many of our guests like the casual relaxed look and feel of the property, however being from a large city myself I know what you mean in regard to style and contemporary design. We are as you said perfectly located downtown and within a short walk to Restaurants, Shppoing and Local attractions.
I am truly sorry that we did not quite live up to your expectations and hope that when next you visit the Anchorage area you give us another try and let the convenience of our location coupled with the friendliness of our Team here at the Westmark Hotel make your stay enjoyable.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had to be sure and share this great local venue. The Westmark Anchorage consistently delivers an above average guest experience. The restaurant offers a convenient location downtown for meals and business meetings. The real treat is upstairs on the 15th floor - their Penthouse Board Room. We have quarterly meetings there for one of the best views in Anchorage. Sweeping views of Cook Inlet and the downtown corridor. The breakfast buffet is top notch; it is always hot and really compliments the view and finishes the room.
And 1000 thanks for supporting our Military community!
DL of Anchorage

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Dave

Thank you so much ,all of us here are thrilled that you enjoy your meetings and stay's with us here at the Westmark Anchorage, on the behalf of all of the Team I want to say how much we appreciate your business and your kind words. We look forward to your next visit and I ask that you let me know when you will be coming so that I can personally make sure you continue to have a great experience.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The staff, the location...the price! Great deal for a downtown hotel. Enjoyed the friendly staff, and the proximity to so much of what we were in town to see. The only issue is parking. If you have your own car, good luck finding a spot in the summertime.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevbatt, General Manager at Westmark Anchorage, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear JV
Its great to hear from you and how much you enjoyed your stay, we all pride ourselves here at the Westmark Anchorage on making sure we provide a happy stay for all of our guests, I also wanted to let you know that begining in May we have been able to negotiate a new parking arrangement that will provide increased parking for all of our guests year round.Again thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and we look forward to you staying with us again when next you are in Anchorage.

Yours Sincerely

Kevin Batters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westmark Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Anchorage

Address: 720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Anchorage 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, the Westmark Anchorage Hotel is a perfect blend of sophistication and convenience. Take in the awe-inspiring views of the surrounding Chugach Mountains and Cook Inlet from the private balconies that adjoin every guest room. Check your e-mail on our complimentary high-speed internet station or simply relax in the always popular Solstice Bar & Grill. Adjacent to the Egan Center and Performing Arts Center and blocks away from the 5th Avenue Mall, the Westmark Anchorage is the perfect hotel choice for downtown accessibility. With a restaurant, lounge and over-sized guestrooms, the Westmark Anchorage offers supreme comfort in Alaska's largest city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Westmark Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Westmark Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Westmark Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westmark Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.