We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Susitna Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Susitna Place
Save
You added Susitna Place to your Saves list
727 "N" Street, Anchorage, AK 99501-3226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 121 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Washington USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have to agree with most of the previous reviews. We stayed here three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was comfortable, and beautifully furnished. I loved the art work. The common area was comfortable, but I found it a little cool in the evenings. Linda was extremely helpful whether it was choosing a place to have dinner, a local sight to see or finding a subaru mechanic. She knows a lot about the area, local history and politics and I really enjoyed our talks. Breakfast every morning was above and beyond what we expected with a large array of foods to choose from including some reindeer sausage, enough even to satisfy my young adult son.Just blocks from down town and a great place to watch sunsets and peek at Mt McKinley. I hope to stay here when we return to the Anchorage area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    32
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
68
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a night after arriving in Anchorage. It is a very nice space, the room was large, and it was very affordable. The owner was very helpful with places to go in Anchorage, and the breakfast was nice as well. There are great views from the living room, and there's a really fun trail very near the hotel that runs right along the water. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband, Bob, and I stayed at Susitna Place Bed and Breakfast a couple of weeks ago for 6 nights. We have stayed in hotels on our previous visits to Anchorage, but will only stay at Susitna Place from now on. It was the best experience we have ever had. The house was big and beautiful and the view was breathtaking. We had lots of snow, at least for us, being from Texas and all. We even got to see a Mama Mouse and a Baby Mouse outside the front door one morning. Got lots of great pictures. The owner, Linda, was fantastic. She was very informative on Anchorage and Alaska and was very, very gracious. You will not go wrong by staying at Susitna Place. Can't say enough good things about it and Linda. Looking forward to going back real soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Susitna Place for 2 nights and were thoroughly impressed by David and Linda's B&B.

It is located not far from downtown, which is a 15-min walk away. Not directly connected by the Anchorage bus network, so we had to walk a bit after getting off the bus from the airport. But that wont be an issue if you plan to drive - Susitna has 3-4 parking slots.

We stayed at the Iliamna Room the first night. While it didnt have much natural light (may not be a negative at certain times of the year), the room was spacious and comfortable.

The second night - and this was after 5 days - we stayed at the Susitna Suite. It had a living room, a bedroom with attached bathroom and a patio with nice views of the Cook Inlet and the mountains beyond.

There is a lounge area - again with amazing views on the right day - where breakfast is served in the morning. The emphasis is on cold food but overall it was an excellent start to the day. On one of the days, we had to leave early and Linda packed breakfast for us to carry at 630am.

Linda and David were welcoming and helpful hosts and I would recommend Susitna Place to any visitor to Anchorage

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Susitna Place twice on our recent trip to Alaska. The location is perfect and easy to get to from the airport. It is a straight shot down Minnesota St. Then, you take a quick left on 8th Ave and a right on N Street and you are there. We could easily walk to downtown. The Inn Keeper, Linda, is very helpful and she recommended great restaurants and bike rental shop. She helped us through one emergency, also, and we remain very grateful for her help. The Inn is very clean and the breakfasts are very nice. We especially liked the tables in the great room where we could converse with other travelers. Oh, and parking is available on the property. There is only off street parking on a hill at the Copper Whale.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband, two friends, and I stayed here twice while on vacation in Alaska - August 29 and again on Sept 4th, 2012. Great location for arrival and departure as it is both near the airport and downtown Anchorage. Quiet side street, great parking.Bit expensive-but everything in Alaska is more expensive. Beautifully laid out buffet breakfast with plenty of fresh fruits, cheeses, cereals, meats and homemade breads etc. in a common room looking out at the ocean. This room was open all of the time with comfortable leather furniture, guidebooks, reading materials and binoculars for catching the harbor action as well the many birds. Stayed on lower level both times. First night in comfortable king bed with private bath on lower level with an ocean view. Return visit we stayed in a comfortable queen private room with a window looking up at a fence. Both rooms were well appointed. Owner, Linda, was very helpful and pleasant. She loaned us a Milepost guide book to find the many hidden Alaskan treasures just off the road. Great stay! All 4 of us were grateful for the hospitality which was generously given. Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

There are some reviews which mention that some rooms have no view, which is true. They are below grade and have windows that look at, well not much. If you want a good view from your room you have to ask and pay more.

The common area has great views and comfy leather couches as well as table and chairs for dining etc.

The room was immaculate as were the bathrooms and nicely appointed. Great big shower in the basement shared bath! Bed was nothing special but OK. Bkfst is basic with good coffee and tea, and usually artisan bread along with the ordinary stuff.

The owner/host is patient and knowledgable, and does not seem to be 'tired of the guests' like some B and Bs. Recommended highly.

You can walk all over downtown in 20 minutes from here The rest of town (midtown etc.) are not walkable from downtown in general.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Susitna Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Susitna Place

Address: 727 "N" Street, Anchorage, AK 99501-3226
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, downtown location with panoramic views of Cook Inlet and the Alaska and Aleutian mountain ranges. Suites with private decks; standard rooms with private or shared baths. Generous continental-plus breakfast. Cable TV with HBO in all rooms. Free covered parking and wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Susitna Place Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Susitna Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.