We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Susitna Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Susitna Place
Save
You added Susitna Place to your Saves list
727 "N" Street, Anchorage, AK 99501-3226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 122 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Threerivers
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Great place to stay located near downtown Anchorage we were able to walk to resturants and shops our room had an awesome ocean view and a lovely view of the sleeping lady.
Our hostess was very wecoming, our room was quiet and clean! Love it!. our room was perfect. Can't wait until my next visit and I will bring friends.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Denali room very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
69
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I recently stayed for 2 nights at Susitna Place - Linda was very welcoming and I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The location was good - only a short walk to the centre of the town and with easy access to the Tony Knowles trail. My room was very clean, comfortable and private (I stayed in the Foraker room). The views from the common area over Cook Inlet were really beautiful and it was a lovely spot to sit and have breakfast each morning and chat to the other guests. I really enjoyed the breakfast - it was fresh and plentiful. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this B & B to anyone looking for a place to stay in Anchorage!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brsibane,Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights early Sept. It was convenient to downtown, very comfortable and quiet giving a great nights rest which we needed after arriving early from a cruise; close to bicycle rental and the Tony Knowles trail. The owner went out of her way to help guests and had a good list of suggested restaurants. Breakfasts were great, cereals, granola, pastries, huge muffins, toast, lovely jams, fruit and good coffee. Not to mention the wonderful view from the living/breakfast area and meeting interesting other guests at breakfast. The choc chip cookies were a great welcoming touch. And we could get on line, compliments of the laptop there to check our e-mails. All in all, well exceeded our expectations and made our stay in Anchorage an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Susitna Place in September 2011. The place was beautiful with nothing negative to mention in this review. The highlights were the beautiful views, the clean rooms, the thoughtful gestures of having extra bathroom supplies for us if needed, and a portable fan which was GREATLY appreciated.....They always had a basket of fruit by the front door and it was nice to grab to take with us for a snack.....Every detail was covered and I would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My family and I stayed here one night at the end of our 2-week Alaskan adventure in the Denali Suite. The B&B is very clean, modern, and comfortable. The owners are both very nice people who went out of their way to make sure our needs were met. Breakfast in the morning was a nice assortment of pastries, cereal, fruit, and toast. The decks overlook the Cook Inlet, which (if the weather was better) allow for fabulous views. We did not have a car, so it was a bit of a walk into the downtown area – I would highly recommend using a cab, especially if it’s raining all day like it was when we were there. The owners were very helpful by calling one for us whenever we needed it, as well as giving us helpful directions and recommendations on where to go in Anchorage. The Denali Suite is one large room with a King Bed, Small Sleeper Sofa, Fireplace, Outside Deck, and private Bathroom. We had 3 adults in the room and I wouldn’t recommend trying to squeeze in a 4th. When we booked the room I asked which had a better view, the Denali or Susitna Suite, I was told the Denali but they are really the same. If I would go back I would reserved the Susitna Suite because it seemed much larger. Overall, a nice place to stay on our short stay in Anchorage!

Room Tip: Stay in the Susitna Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLeans Ridges, NSW, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at Susitna on 4 occasions, between various stages of or travels. It is a well maintained, centrally located B&B, with fabulous views over the inlet. Linda, our hostess was charming, friendly and informative. It is a short walk into downtown Anchorage which is a bonus if you aren't travelling with a car. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at Susitna Place in downtown Anchorage for one night in August. Lovely bed and breakfast looking out over Cook Inlet with a view of the "Sleeping Beauty" and within walking distance of Tony Knowles Trail. Nice deck to enjoy coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening. Very quiet and peaceful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Susitna Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Susitna Place

Address: 727 "N" Street, Anchorage, AK 99501-3226
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, downtown location with panoramic views of Cook Inlet and the Alaska and Aleutian mountain ranges. Suites with private decks; standard rooms with private or shared baths. Generous continental-plus breakfast. Cable TV with HBO in all rooms. Free covered parking and wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Susitna Place Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Susitna Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.