We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Hotel in need of updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Captain Cook

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Captain Cook to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   939 W 5th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tired Hotel in need of updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

While we loved the convenience of this hotel, I found it to be old and a bit run down. The rooms were okey, but the bathroom was in need of repair and updating. When we wanted to use the fitness area my wife and I had to separate! Their is a distinct men's and woman's fitness area and only a pool where both can go. The equipment was tired in the men's area. The hotel staff were all very nice, but we elected to eat dinner and breakfast elsewhere. The elevators are slow and rooms divided between two towers, which makes navigation challenging.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view, we could only see the town. I'd get a room on a lower floor beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Donald M,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your opinion of our Hotel and I'd like address your comments in a positive way. We do have both Private Men's and Women's Athletic Club Facilities. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi are coed as well as coed classes like group cycling, Zumba and more. There are 3 towers and the lobby is connected throughout with restaurants at the base of each tower helping identify what part of the Hotel you're in at any given time. Also, our staff are ready and willing to help with any questions you might have. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    283
    105
    42
    16
See reviews for
131
328
43
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamosa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Plane was delayed so didn't arrive until 1 am but still received excellent service and help. A little disappointed in room as advertising stated great views. We looked out on a parking garage. Comfortable and clean. Many amenities and loved the wine bar. Very nice shops in hotel. Complimentary breakfast at Crow's Nest only available to residents of certain rooms, was told $50.00 each for others but got the feeling it wasn't encouraged, so stood in line for 45 minutes at The Cafe in lobby. Food was good but staff seemed a little overwhelmed and didn't get all components of breakfast out at the same time. Prices not too far off the rest of the city but nothing is cheap in Anchorage! Within walking distance of downtown but easy cab access if needed. It's definitely more of an experience, though nice, than just a sleeping place.

Room Tip: Check first to see what amenities available to particular room. Also location of room if the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Jacque P,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you spending the time to write such a nice review and we're proud to provide a "Great Atmosphere" during your stay. The Crow's Nest suites come with a $50 dollar food and beverage credit to all restaurants throughout the Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the full experience and all the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to your next visit and take care!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUS
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a nice stay at the hotel, with clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and a good location. A number of restaurants, brew pubs and attractions are within easy walking distance. A good place to use as jumping off hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Fly_Bob,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. Short at sweet. Always a pleasure to provide a great stay whether its for multiple nights or just overnight. We look forward to your next visit and I hope you have more time to spend with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is very clean, staff are very professional, we especially loved Fletcher's and the staff there are so professional and attend to your every request/need.

The restaurant staff are very fast, tend to your food needs/desires and the bar staff, especially bar tender "CHRIS" not only jumps to your needs, but remembers you from previous visits to the hotel, which speaks volumes of the place.

Spectacular views of the Cook Inlet from floor 17 onwards Love Tower 3.

Highly recommend, professional from check in to check out, if ever any problems though regarding those comps, just ask for a manager, they always work with you, especially if repeat customer.

Room Tip: Rooms 17 and up for the views and access to the Crows Nest top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear twlynch,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and being labeled
"Best in Alaska"! It's so rewarding to see the Hotel provided a warm and comfortable atmosphere and the staff took care of your every need. Chris has been here for a while and he's definitely a people person. I've witnessed him recognizing people after years between visits and both the guest and I were floored and impressed. Our guests mean the world to us and we can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. By far, this is the best hotel experience we have had in Alaska! The staff is friendly, professional and knowledgeable. The room was great. The hotel has four excellent restaurants to choose from. We highly recommend this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Junior suite with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Snowbear17,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. What a nice review. It's always a pleasure to receive such high remarks. We love to take care of our locals and come visit us again sometime during the cold Fairbanks winter months and enjoy some relaxation and comfort. Cheers!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for our last night in Alaska after our cruise/ tour. Very clean and comfortable, the beds were great and nice robes were provided. Shopping (trading posts to galleries) and restraunts ( pubs to 5 Star )are within walking distance. Not sure on the prices as it was included in the package.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Stephanie W,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your great review and it's nice to see you enjoyed your stay. Checking out the surrounding areas is fun and there are some really cool spots just walking distance from the Hotel. Hope you had a great time in AK and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Great old style character hotel with all modern facilities and not just like all the other hotels. Great location close to bars and restaurants. Rooms quiet and comfortable and hotel generally has interesting and unusual decor. Great selection of shops in hotel. The girls in the 'Once In A Blue Moose' shop were especially friendly and helpful, ordering in items in different sizes for me. The bars are great with an Old World (Captain Cook..) style with domestic international wines and cocktails and superb Alaskan beers.
The breakfast restaurant seems to struggle at busy times with items coming out wrong or in the wrong order.
Generally a great base for your stay with a real Alaskan feel!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Pete J,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed many aspects of the Hotel. I love the style of this Hotel. Multiple restaurants, shopping options, athletic clubs and more offer a real mix for every guest. If you're into taking in
"The Great Indoors" we have complimentary Wifi for all those NetFlixers! We look forward to your next visit. Cheers!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Address: 939 W 5th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Captain Cook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.