We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Captain Cook

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Captain Cook to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Captain Cook
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   939 W 5th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Morgantown, WV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Captain Cook while attending a meeting in Anchorage. During our stay, our son became very ill and we were given a prescription that was called in at a local pharmacy to be filled. However, we did not have transportation to the pharmacy and were unsure of where it was located. The concierge at the hotel graciously volunteered to pick up my son's antibiotic and delivered it personally to our hotel room.

While the hotel is a bit older, we found it to have a very central location as well as very good shopping within the hotel itself. I highly recommend the nearby Glacier Brewing Company restaurant. Within this restaurant's general complex is also an excellent artisan's gallery, local gourmet food shop and a fabulous shoe store as well. The hotel's room service is excellent as well and with a sick baby, we were able to order directly off any of their restaurant's menus so we did not have to leave the room. You can also walk down the street to the mall and local fur shops as well. Great stay!

Room Tip: If staying at the Captain Cook in the winter, request a NON-corner room as the windows really can ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear WVUProud,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate you sharing your experience and we're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that your son became ill. It's was nice to hear that our Concierge went above and beyond and showed care and compassion while providing that service. Next time you're in Anchorage we'll be here to take care of your family once again and Go Mountaineers!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    283
    105
    42
    16
See reviews for
131
328
43
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 16 nights during January. The staff were attentive and knowledgable. The rooms were spacious and the views from the upper floors are stunning. The breakfast menu is a bit overbearing and would benefit from more healthy choices. We ate in the Crows Nest restaurant 3 times and found it to be very good quality, although slightly pricey. The hotel has plenty of character, which sets it apart from other mainstream hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Gran_G,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see that you enjoyed your extended stay with us. It's always greats to positively impact a guests stay whether its for 1 night or 16. I'm glad you liked the Hotel's ambiance and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

There is very little to say, other than this place met every expectation one would have for a comfortable stay. Helpful, friendly staff, and a great downtown location.

Not a single thing went wrong with our reservation, check in, concierge, or check out. Friendly door man, friendly desk clerk, friendly cleaning staff! (Even had a short, nice conversation between floors with a kindly cleaning staffer on the elevator. What a nice change of pace!)

Beautiful rooms, and an amazing building. Well worth it for those wondering if spending some extra money on their stay in Anchorage might be worth it. You won't regret paying more for what you get! Trust me, there are some bad hotels in this town who charge just a little less. Do yourself a favor, and book your business or pleasure visit with the Captain Cook!

Room Tip: Don't worry about your view. If you are in a room down low, you can still see the ocean or moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear J V,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in providing good customer service and making sure you feel very welcomed here. We know you're not a home but we want to recreate that comfortable atmosphere with a splash of relaxation. The drive back to Homer is amazing and you're very lucky to live in such a cool place. Hopefully I'll be down there this summer for some fun on the Spit! Take care and when you find yourself in Anchorage we'd love to see you return.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural ak
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is an older, upscale hotel in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The location is convenient to restaurants, touristy shops, the convention center and the museum (very interesting) . The athletic facilities are nice, separate workout areas for women and men. Pool offers limited times for kids to use the pool. Nice hot tub. Bar/restaurant at the top of tower 3 (crows nest) has beautiful views. The staff was helpful and friendly.
On the downside, the pool water was too cold for my toddler. Had to get out after a few minutes. So much for swimming. The lobby covers a city block and you have to walk all the way around the get to tower 3 elevators from the main doors. The double outside doors are REALLY heavy and don't have an electronic open option (or doorman) except for at one entrance. So if you have a stroller or wheelchair or are carrying children it's very inconvenient after the first few times! Room service food was ok. Ordered on multiple days due to sickness and only liked the Cesar salad. Lastly the water faucet handles in the bathroom were difficult to turn on and had separate hot/cold handles. Seems like a little thing but after several days the annoyance builds!
Next time I'll stay at a hotel with more modern conveniences. Not the hotel for people with young children.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear meg m,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor Community. I wish we could have done more to make your stay better. Your comments are held in high regard and we look forward to improving in the future.
Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here when I took depositions in and around the Anchorage area. This is an excellent hotel for the businessman or lawyer. I was impressed by the clear attention to service provided by the hotel (ex. I was able to receive faxes from my office in Houston at 2 AM, and I was informed with my wake-up call re: the faxes), the excellent room, and the numerous restaurant selections. If I find myself in Anchorage again, I shall certainly book the Captain Cook Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Front Desk Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear travelguy2013,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. It's nice to hear from travelers with different needs. Providing a comfortable and relaxing stay while you continue your business on the road is a great compliment. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Anchorage and we'll always have a warm bed and eager staff ready to assist.

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Captain Cook for 3 nights prior to Thanksgiving with my daughters. We had a great time. Our room on the Captains Deck was excellent! Service & ammentities are excellent! I'll be back for a stay for the Iditarod in late Feb. & look forward to the accomodations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear michael m,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased you enjoyed the Hotel and the amenities in the Captain's Deck. Iditarod is a fun time in Anchorage. With the Winter Festival in full swing fueled by Fur Rendezvous, Anchorage bustles with life and the festivities are abundant. February is normally cold so dress warm!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Captain Cook. The staff is professional and courteous. There are a number of excellent restaurants, bars, shops, and amenities at the Captain Cook. The décor is splendid, welcoming, and comfortable. The location is excellent and within walking distance to many points of interest in Downtown Anchorage.

We enjoyed our room. It had good temperature controls, a ceiling fan, a comfortable bed, a wonderful view, and warm décor. The only downside was the bathroom. The shower was small, and the dark shower curtain was a little discomforting… making the small shower seem that much smaller!

Aside from the shower, we really did enjoy our stay at the Captain Cook, and we look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter E, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Captain Cook, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear AmericanOdyssey,

Thank you for staying at The Hotel Captain Cook. We appreciate your review and we're pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. It's always nice to take care of our local community and provide a little slice of comfort during your travels. Anytime you leave Valdez and find yourself spending a night
in Anchorage we would be honored to see you return. Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

Sincerely,
Hunter R. W. Edelen
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Captain Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Captain Cook

Address: 939 W 5th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
#9 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Captain Cook 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Anchorage, Alaska, each of the Hotel Captain Cook’s 547 luxury accommodations of rooms and suites offer a stunning view, whether it’s of the neighboring Cook Inlet or the Chugach Mountains. Captain Cook is Alaska's member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Captain Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Anchorage
Hotel Captain Cook
Captain Cook Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Captain Cook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.