We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reputation Intact” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taco King

Taco King
113 W Northern Lights Blvd, Ste D, Anchorage, AK 99503-2600 (Midtown)
907-276-7387
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 618 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Midtown
Palmer, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reputation Intact”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have eaten at the Taco King here a few year's ago and in was very good, and decided to try it recently with my Girlfriend, Thanks guys I was not disappointed,just like I remembered.
Keep up the good work.
Pete

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Food is great, service extremely fast. If we have an urge for tacos, there is no other choice in Anchorage!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
“Real authentic "microwaved" Mexican restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

You would be better going to your local grocery store and buy a Frozen Mexican dinner.
Me and the wife ordered food and i did not notice untill after but they microwaved my dinner and it tasted just like my discription.
First and last trip for me you've been warned.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Skip Taco King”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I would recommend any Mexican fast food chain over Taco King: Chipotle, Qdoba, etc. The chicken was overcooked and the rice was greasy. Having lived in the southwest for many years, I'm accustomed to great inexpensive Mexican food--Taco King is neither. In fact, this was the worst meal I had on the entire trip. For a reasonably priced high-quality lunch, go to Great Harvest bakery near the Embassy Suites.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, AK
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Menudo fix!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I love menudo and Taco King on Spenard Road is perhaps the best in Anchorage for this uniquely Mexican delicacy.

I stopped by for lunch while in town in February 2014 attending a class. There were not a lot of people in the establishment and I order the menudo with flour tortillas ($7.95). The meal was delivered about ten minutes later.

The soup came in a huge bowl, piping hot and filled to the brim. Cilantro, onions, oregano, and a slice of lime accompanied the meal. It was delicious, maybe a little bit thin but there were plenty of tripe pieces in there and that made me happy. Three hot flour tortillas were wrapped in aluminum foil. I thoroughly enjoyed this, only wish we had a place to get menudo in Juneau.

Oh yes, the other food choices here are good but if you like menudo - you have to come here when in Anchorage!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco King also viewed

 

Been to Taco King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.