We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross Is comparable to skid row” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Backpackers Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alaska Backpackers Inn to your Saves list
Alaska Backpackers Inn
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gross Is comparable to skid row”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

When I stayed here there was terrible service. The manager was nice at first but than became really mean. I than used a cup and when I went to wash it there was no soap. I am not sure if the cup was clean when I used it. Than they have like a reading area so I checked that out. I saw a book that looked interesting and when I opened it there was a booger in it. I was so disgusted I did not pick up another book for the rest of my stay. I than went to the bathroom to take a number 2 and there was no toilet paper I screamed for help but no one came. I was than forced to use my underwear I tore that into pieces to conserve what I needed. I can honestly say this happened to me twice and the 2nd time I was lucky because I was going to take a shower anyway.

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    45
    28
    26
    54
See reviews for
20
37
80
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here in november.
Lacey, the hostess/cleaning lady/security guard/... is super nice and will help you with anything you want to do.
The hostel is clean, no bedbugs, and well furnished. I especially loved all the art and notes on the walls all over the place. All the visitors were super friendly too, it just felt like a little family.
I would highly recommend for someone searching for an affordable place in anchorage.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Thank you for allowing a platform to suggest a recommendation. This is one of the best hostels I've resided in and I've traveled quite a bit (i.e western Europe). The staff there are wonderful, especially Ms. Lacey who runs a tight ship and is very knowledgeable, friendly and gives good advice. I would recommend this place to people journeying through AK or seeking temporary housing while relocating in the Klondike.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Thanks to Lacey, my stay was great! All the staff were friendly, accommodating and very knowledgeable about most everything I asked about.The place was better than I expected due to previous TA bad reviews......there were no bugs, no homeless folks and the place was clean. I will be sure to stay there again should I ever visit downtown Anchorage again. Lots of interesting people from Europe to socialize with with ample room to roam around inside when not out exploring the town. Thank you Alaska Backpackers Inn!

Room Tip: Pick the most affordable room as you can always upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whangarei
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

we stayed 3 days here before joining a tour. We had a homeless man living in our duplex bathroom and hall. we tried to get he key code changed but no success. the staff knew about it but did nothing. the place was dirty and security windows etc poor.
the immediate streets had drunks and obvious drug deals happening.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Nothing fancy here but it was clean and comfortable. The beds were great, good pillows. I loved the fun artwork done by travelers that was all over the wall. Quiet when I stayed. Slept great. Not many other travelers when I was there. You can't beat the price! I will stay there again when I travel to anchorage.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I stayed here due to the low cost, especially since I was a single traveler. I stayed for 2 nights in the blue building and had very low expectations before arriving. It turned out I stayed in the better building because travelers I talked with later in my trip were still suffering from bedbug bites after staying in the brick building. The gal at the front desk was surly and very unhelpful in simply taking my payment and directing me to my 2nd floor 2 bed room. The room was rather dirty and musty smelling but at least the window opened. However, the women's bathroom was nasty with mold prevalent in the shower.The rest of the bathroom was likely also moldy but, as with the room, the very dim bulbs and dirty light fixtures helped to hide the filth and grime. The unisex bathroom was slightly less moldy. But the aspect which was disgusting was the bed sheets. The 1st night, another person stayed in the room and the bed was remade with the same unwashed sheets. In retrospect, I likely also slept in old unwashed sheets. I was supposed to stay another the night before I flew out, but instead I had a far, far more positive experience at the other Anchorage hostel

Room Tip: I cannot believe there are any decent ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaska Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Backpackers Inn

Address: 409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alaska Backpackers Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchorage's largest, most affordable, and newest HOSTEL. We are a HOSTEL (not a full service (HOTEL) that offers discounted accommodations for all tastes and budgets. We offer the best value for your money in a clean, safe, fun and sociable environment. Save money to go on tours, backpacking, hiking, or whatever works for you! This is the perfect place to start your Alaskan Adventure. We are located in Downtown Anchorage. We are walking distance from the train and bus station. We offer dormitories with 2 to 4 beds. We also offer standard private rooms (shared bathrooms) and deluxe private rooms (shared bathrooms, only this time there is one bathroom per two rooms). We also provide full one bedroom private suites with full kitchens and bathrooms. Best prices in town!!! Our hostel also has a club house where travelers get to socialize and exchange adventures. We have a barbecue area with picnic tables and a fire pit for enjoying the great Alaskan summer.Televisions come with cable channels. Guestrooms also feature complimentary wireless Internet access, and blackout drapes/curtains.Check our website for more info.Here are a few of the main differences between Hostels and Hotels:-Hostels tend to be budget oriented; rates are considerably lower than hostels-For those who prefer an informal environment. Hostels do not usually have the same level of formality as hotels.-For those who prefer to socialize with their fellow guest, hostels usually have more common areas and opportunities to socialize.-Hostels are generally self catering, and rooms are cleaned between guests instead of daily. -Hostel usually do not provide personal Hygiene products like soap or shampoo for the showers. Guest usually bring their own.-Hostels are generally more adventure travel oriented than leisure travel oriented, thus attracting a more venturesome crowd ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Alaska Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Backpackers Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Backpackers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.