We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific! Great Home! Best Location! Friendly! Free Internet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows to your Saves list
Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows
1401 West 13th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 122 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Cannes, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific! Great Home! Best Location! Friendly! Free Internet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I travel for work and am tired of dreary hotels: hosts at this bed and breakfast provvide a warm family home; very convenient walk to downtown; great sight seeing ideas from host; as well as tips for restaurants: Rooms shared family art collection: clean; cozy: Enjoyed quiet neighborhood: host children friendly and helpful: laundry an extra convenience: Highly recommend: next time I will stay longer in one of the apartments.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    3
    9
    14
See reviews for
21
15
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Malters, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I really had a great time at this B&B. I regret that I haven't found it earlyer. The rooms (I stayed two nights in a private room with shared bath and one night in an two bedrom appartement) were very clean and functional.
In the private rooms there is a TV, in the appartement the TV is in the living room. In the appartement you've got your own kitchen where you help yourself for breakfast.
The private rooms share the kitchen with the family. You may help yourself here as well.
In both cases you have free WiFi available although in the appartement I didn't have a signal in the room, only in the living room / kitchen.

I really enjoyed the time together with the family, especially with her younger daughter Beth. They both are very friendly and open minded as well as her mother, the host. It was a pleasure to stay here and I would definetly go back or recommend this place.

Regarding the pictures and messages of one review here on this page:
Yes, it's not really my style of life either. But you've got your own room and they are very nice! If you'd like, you can spend your time with the family - or not. It's up to you! I did, and I enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Our stay at "Raspberry Meadows" B&B was very pleasant with both hostesses+location.
If you want to stay in Anchorage and don´t want to spend a lot of a money for expensive hotels, this is the place to stay!!
It´s very close to downtown.
Me and my partner enjoyed it very much and if we decide to come back one day, we´d choose this place again.
The lady who owns B&B was very helpful, always making sure whether there´s anything we need so our stay would be the most pleasant. Place is nice and clean, very cozy when you enter and so are the rooms and quiet at night. Daughters of owner gave us a present, which we didn´t expect, but loved it.
Thank you again girls :-)
Anyway, we appreciated we were welcomed into nice place+the hostess is more than happy to give a map and explains about where to go and so on.
Don´t hesitate and book your trip to Anchorage with this nice B&B and you´ll have a great time.
Again, would recommend this place to my friends.
Judy&Ivo

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We began researching places to stay in Anchorage in May and saw the many glowing reviews for Anchorage Downtown B&B on Tripadvisor. After reading 4 or 5, we thought it sounded great so we booked rooms for our stay in August. Big Mistake!

If you go back to reviews in July 2009 you will see the real condition of the property. (In fact, the real condition of the property is also revealed in older reviews too). The reviews from June and August of this year are also on the mark. Even though the management of Anchorage Downtown B&B claims that the pictures from the June review are not of the B&B and/or are pictures of a “private” area, they are consistent with the ones we took (attached to this review) when we toured guest areas of the place.

We really find it difficult to believe that the people who wrote the glowing reviews for this property actually stayed there. Like the reviewer in August, we also left without staying at the property even though the rooms were paid for. My family was disgusted with the mess, clutter, and lack of cleanliness!

I’d believe my eyes rather than the comments made by the people giving the B&B high marks.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

The fence was so overgrown with trees and shrubs that we couldn't see the house from the street or find the house number. The walkway and stairs had a lot of debris. We could see in the front window that the house hadn't been picked up for quite some time. Our rooms were in the basement, which smelled musty when we opened the door. We were told there was bread in the freezer and juice in the refrigerator for our breakfast. It didn't give the impression of cleanliness so we left without staying.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Simple , country like, rustic charm with a very warm family. A good walk into town along a scenic path. A B&B with history.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

The reviews from Trip Advisor as well as Marty's link were good so we booked the place. It was messy to begin with from the garden appearances, very overgrown. The kitchen when we entered through the back door was extremely cluttered and that was where we were expected to make our own breakfast which only muffins in a tin were provided. You could open the small door into the fridge to grab an old banana or a kiddie pack of juice. The living room was so crowded with junk that even the daughter had to perch on her piano bench to watch TV. There was nowhere to sit and there was a note from Mary asking that we don't sit in there (as if we could) because of the guests below. The whole place looked like it came from the "Hoarders" TV show. Even our bedroom had stuff belonging to them in the closet. Maybe the other rooms were better but this "Private room in the main house with shared bath" was disgusting and really needs to be investigated. I feel bad writing this as the children are so sweer but I hate to have people book this up thinking they are going to have a wonderful experience and get what we got.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchoragedowntown, Owner at Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
These photos are not pictures of our B&B, which is clearly pictured on our web page and video.
In addition to B&B, we provide private quarters for extended stay and long-term stay guests. Unfortunately, these guests intruded into the private quarters of others to take these photos. Due to privacy laws and consideration for guests, we cannot discuss the matter further. We are however saddened that this invasion of privacy occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows

Address: 1401 West 13th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic home, suites with kitchenettes or rooms tastefully furnished with antiques, reasonably priced, walking distance to downtown and the ocean; secluded eco-friendly downtown Anchorage B&B, recommended for 20+ years for warm Alaskan homestyle friendliness, travel tips and comfortable lodging. Near tourist attractions, downtown shops, Coastal trail - bike, hike, view flowers, birds, sunset; ski and skate at Westchester Lagoon and Kincaid's world-class Nordic ski trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Downtown B&B at Raspberry Meadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.