We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Milkshake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Diner

City Diner
3000 Minnesota Drive, Anchorage, AK
277-2489
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 684 Restaurants in Anchorage
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Milkshake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stopped in here for a milkshake after an early dinner. This diner makes an excellent shake. If you have a craving be sure to stop in.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    53
    28
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here for years and watching the decline. When I think diner, I think good comfort food fast. Not the case here? Actually it has gotten to the point we do not come for lunch during work days because service stinks and food is blah. This is it for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had both breakfast and dinner here. Burgers are fair, fries were a bit undercooked, grilled chicken sandwich was very good, and pancakes were respectable. Real diner-like atmosphere. Open late. Staff is very friendly, service good. Don’t forget to ask for the senior discount (over 60, I believe).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“What a treat to find real diner food in Alaska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We ate here three times during our trip and it was great each time. We love diner food, and this food and service is very good. Their reindeer sausage is the best we had on our trip. This is a great place for consistently good Alaskan food at a reasonable price. Great milk shakes too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan, United States
1 review
“3 times in 24 hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Best food, atmosphere and service in AK. Dishes not found elsewhere - Chocolate Coke by the pitcher, huge portions, very pleasant staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Diner also viewed

 

Been to City Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.