We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip this place!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anchorage Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Skip this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beds killed my back Tried both of the queens in my room, both horrible, Old and need replacing, Bathroom moldy, Must live out of your suitcase, Internet sucks, area sucks, drunks walking around, For the price, sleep in your car!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AD_Hotel, Manager at Anchorage Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello:
I am sorry to hear that your stay with The Anchorage Downtown Hotel was unpleasant. We are under new Management, and we are striving each and everyday to make our Guests hotel accommodations as comfortable and pleasant as possible. A lot of upgrades have taken place since your stay with us; and we would really love to have you as a guest again in the near future. This will be our First year being open "year round" We are also participating in both Weekly, and Monthly accommodations during the Winter months. Thank you again for providing a review on TripAdvisor.com.

Regards,
Amy R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    20
    22
    18
See reviews for
15
40
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Willich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel description on the hotel webpage and booking.com is false. No free airport shuttle this costs 15 dollars The breakfast room as depicted with tables does not exist only a board on the reception wall can be used in the celler. When I asked on the 11.05.2013 about the 24 hour reception I was told we dont have that it ended about 10:30 pm Rooms very small advice do not pay before seeing management ignores complaints

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

So I was here in November 2012 for a week, one good tip if you gonna checkin after 10pm than let the Hotel know in advance I coudnt get in after this hour and had to checkin into a another Hotel for my first night. But after all the Room and Place has been great aswell the Breakfast was alright, so for the wintertime the Hotel is pretty good dont know how it is at the Summer Time, but its like 1 min by foot till you will get to the Downtown.
So for sure I would recommend this Hotel as the Staff there was pretty friendly to me and the Room was neat and the Roomrate was alright aswell (for Alaska prices).
For sure you can go to the Marriott just next to it but be prepared to pay over 200$ per night and the Breakfast/Internet is not included in the Rate. So I think I have chosen it alright the Anchorage Downtown Hotel, and anyway you will spent most of the time outside and explore Alaska so the Hotel is alright for that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Decwnt enough property, not the best area. Super hot (fine when chilly) but no way to adjust. Window open works while there but hope noisy neighbors don't bother you. If you had biz for a week ok, microwave, fridge etc.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our stay in Anchorage was short and this hotel had everything we needed: convenient, clean, free parking, microwave, fridge, Internet, continental breakfast... and a very fair price. Beds were so comfy and the TV was HUGE! Room was a bit small but it really didn't matter since we were gone all day every day. Definitely would recommend this place for the easy-going travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soldotna
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were scheduled to stay here & were not able to due to a medical emergency.The room was prepaid.When we asked for a credit for future trips to Anchorage(3hr drive for us) we were told no we needed to cancell 3 days in advance.The medical emergency was out of our hands,mom had to go to ER.I have emailed the hotel & owner after calling the hotel & have never gotten a response.Very wrong!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a pleasant weeks stay at the Downtown Hotel. It's not the nicest hotel, but by no means is it a roach motel. The breakfast was nice, even if the dining room is a bit small.

The location can't be beat -- a short walk to downtown Anchorage and it's restaurants and shops. The bed was comfortable, the tv was nice and the price was great.

The only bad thing that happened was that they had some issues with the fire alarms two days in a row when we were there, so they went off very early in the mornings. Not ideal, but that's life and we got past it.

All in all, this hotel is a great deal for the price and location. We will say here again should we ever return to Anchorage.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Address: 826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Downtown Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small (16 rooms) boutique type hotel. Located just 5 blocks from city center, very quiet side street. Free parking. This hotel is great for the traveler that does not want or need all the noise and hustle associated with the large chains. We are quite, social, safe, clean. We offer good clean rooms at a reasonable price. Our guest stay between 1-21 nights. Business travelers, vacationers, tours, students, military all like staying here. Restaurants, shopping, nightlife, are all just down the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Anchorage Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.