We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very displeased” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
soldotna
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very displeased”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were scheduled to stay here & were not able to due to a medical emergency.The room was prepaid.When we asked for a credit for future trips to Anchorage(3hr drive for us) we were told no we needed to cancell 3 days in advance.The medical emergency was out of our hands,mom had to go to ER.I have emailed the hotel & owner after calling the hotel & have never gotten a response.Very wrong!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    21
    23
    21
See reviews for
15
42
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a pleasant weeks stay at the Downtown Hotel. It's not the nicest hotel, but by no means is it a roach motel. The breakfast was nice, even if the dining room is a bit small.

The location can't be beat -- a short walk to downtown Anchorage and it's restaurants and shops. The bed was comfortable, the tv was nice and the price was great.

The only bad thing that happened was that they had some issues with the fire alarms two days in a row when we were there, so they went off very early in the mornings. Not ideal, but that's life and we got past it.

All in all, this hotel is a great deal for the price and location. We will say here again should we ever return to Anchorage.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After 24 hours flying from Rio de Janeiro we arrive in Anchorage in this nice place. We stayed in an inner room without view but were so tired that slept right away. Next day we went to visit the city center which was a few blocks away. Overall service, cleanliness and breakfast were very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

So, we arrive in Anchorage, thinking we'll just find an apartment and move in, just like we have done in other states. Uh uh. No apartments and all the hotels are either really sketchy or mucho deniro. So, we stop in to the Downtown Hotel "for one night" and ended up staying 4 nights, and ultimately renting an offsite apartment through the property management company that shares the space. The Hotel room was cute, warm, and cozy. The neighborhood is fine, it's a short walk to many restaurants and the downtown area. Great running and biking routes nearby - Coastal Trail is not far. Continental breakfast each morning was a nice treat!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here in September and although it was pretty nice outside (mid-60s during the day), the heat was on all the time. They leave the windows open before you check in, but there are no screens and the neighborhood is a bit run down so I didn't want to leave the window open when I was there. The heat quickly became unbearable and there is no way to adjust it. Hotel staff acted like they couldn't adjust it either. Free wi-fi, okay breakfast. The airport shuttle cost $15 a person, each way.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor -- if you have to leave the windows open, at least you don't have to worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port orford, oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This older hotel is a nice surprise. We arrived late in the evening, and found a comfortable room, large and with two very big windows. There was good and free wifi. The beds were very nice and clean, and the shower was wonderful. It was a little loud with traffic noise, but it is in the center of Anchorage, and very convenient to all the attractions, so that was to be expected. There was a very spartan continental breakfast, but at least you could start the day with coffee, juice, and a little extra. You will probably want to go out for a full breakfast, but that is nearby. The shuttle was very prompt from the airport, and also to the train station on the morning of our departure for Seward and an Alaskan cruise, all complimentary. All in all, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frbill92@hotmail.com
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor, I went to this hotel expecting the worst. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I arrived in Anchorage early and they permitted early check in and an upgrade to my booked room. I was in a king. The bed was very comfortable . . the best on this trip. There was a large flat screen TV in the room. Internet service. In the room at no additional charge. The location was great. A short walk to the city center. I have stayed in other downtown Anchorage hotels including the Westmark and this was the best for the price. It is a little funky and not for everyone but I liked it. Request an outside room with a window and you will be fine. I would stay here again on future trips because the price and location are great.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Address: 826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small (16 rooms) boutique type hotel. Located just 5 blocks from city center, very quiet side street. Free parking. This hotel is great for the traveler that does not want or need all the noise and hustle associated with the large chains. We are quite, social, safe, clean. We offer good clean rooms at a reasonable price. Our guest stay between 1-21 nights. Business travelers, vacationers, tours, students, military all like staying here. Restaurants, shopping, nightlife, are all just down the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anchorage Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.