We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Anchorage Downtown Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Much Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

So, we arrive in Anchorage, thinking we'll just find an apartment and move in, just like we have done in other states. Uh uh. No apartments and all the hotels are either really sketchy or mucho deniro. So, we stop in to the Downtown Hotel "for one night" and ended up staying 4 nights, and ultimately renting an offsite apartment through the property management company that shares the space. The Hotel room was cute, warm, and cozy. The neighborhood is fine, it's a short walk to many restaurants and the downtown area. Great running and biking routes nearby - Coastal Trail is not far. Continental breakfast each morning was a nice treat!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    21
    23
    21
See reviews for
15
42
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bisbee, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here in September and although it was pretty nice outside (mid-60s during the day), the heat was on all the time. They leave the windows open before you check in, but there are no screens and the neighborhood is a bit run down so I didn't want to leave the window open when I was there. The heat quickly became unbearable and there is no way to adjust it. Hotel staff acted like they couldn't adjust it either. Free wi-fi, okay breakfast. The airport shuttle cost $15 a person, each way.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor -- if you have to leave the windows open, at least you don't have to worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port orford, oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This older hotel is a nice surprise. We arrived late in the evening, and found a comfortable room, large and with two very big windows. There was good and free wifi. The beds were very nice and clean, and the shower was wonderful. It was a little loud with traffic noise, but it is in the center of Anchorage, and very convenient to all the attractions, so that was to be expected. There was a very spartan continental breakfast, but at least you could start the day with coffee, juice, and a little extra. You will probably want to go out for a full breakfast, but that is nearby. The shuttle was very prompt from the airport, and also to the train station on the morning of our departure for Seward and an Alaskan cruise, all complimentary. All in all, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frbill92@hotmail.com
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor, I went to this hotel expecting the worst. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I arrived in Anchorage early and they permitted early check in and an upgrade to my booked room. I was in a king. The bed was very comfortable . . the best on this trip. There was a large flat screen TV in the room. Internet service. In the room at no additional charge. The location was great. A short walk to the city center. I have stayed in other downtown Anchorage hotels including the Westmark and this was the best for the price. It is a little funky and not for everyone but I liked it. Request an outside room with a window and you will be fine. I would stay here again on future trips because the price and location are great.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is an older hotel with clean rooms, great staff, and a free shuttle to the airport, but far from the "boutique" they advertise. The $200 a night room I stayed in on the second floor was a completely interior room with only one window that opened out to an interior hallway where people were walking back and forth. Stifling hot, stuffy and weird. If you need a shuttle, try the Clarion nex door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a long term stay, this would probably not be it. We stayed over nite and for that is was enough. They do offer continental breakfast which was nice.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel had very friendly staff and a great shuttle service taking you where ever you want to go for free. However the room was much below average for the price. The carpets were badly stained and bare in patches, there was mould in the shower, holes in the power plugs, the wardrobe door was not attached and had come off its hinges and the sheets appeared stained, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Address: 826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small (16 rooms) boutique type hotel. Located just 5 blocks from city center, very quiet side street. Free parking. This hotel is great for the traveler that does not want or need all the noise and hustle associated with the large chains. We are quite, social, safe, clean. We offer good clean rooms at a reasonable price. Our guest stay between 1-21 nights. Business travelers, vacationers, tours, students, military all like staying here. Restaurants, shopping, nightlife, are all just down the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anchorage Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.