We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, comfy bed, and free bikes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walkabout Town B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Walkabout Town B&B to your Saves list
Walkabout Town B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1610, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 121 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great breakfast, comfy bed, and free bikes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This was our first trip to Alaska, and Terry and his family at the Walkabout B&B made it one to remember. We stayed for 2 peaceful nights. We caught a quick cab ride from the airport and Scott greeted us at the door and let us check in early. We had the Russian room in the basement, which was quiet, dark (great for those long summer days) and comfortable, and we also had our own bathroom. We used the free bikes and helmets to ride into town and along the costal trail. We also found the walk into town and from the Moose's tooth in midtown to be the perfect distance. We can't say enough about Sandy's rhubarb sauce and the reindeer sausage. The upbeat conversations with Scott and Yuya and the other guests at breakfast were great. If you like B&Bs and feeling at home away from home check into the Walkabout Town B&B.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    28
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
51
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

This family run B&B is one of the best we've stayed at. Terry, Scott, and their family were friendly and accomodating. They know Alaska, and they know hospitality. The room and adjoining bath were just what we weary travelers needed. We even left some extra gear there for a few days while exploring the glaciers, and they put a garment bag over my husband's shirts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

This was our second time staying here in 2 years. The house is very comfortable and the family is extremely welcoming. The breakfast was excellent with as much as anyone could possibly eat. The location is very convenient and the B&B is across the street from a lovely park. Bicycles are available. It is also possible to walk to restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

My wife and I were completely satisfied with this B&B where we spent 2 nights and then 1 night bookending our Alaska tour . It was better than a fancy hotel for us. The owners were warm, cordial, and friendly. The room and bathroom were clean and neat, and our bed was very comfortable.

The hosts were very accommodating, and their personal expertise on Alaska and Anchorage was very helpful. They went out of their way to help us. For example, they kept extra luggage for us while we were on our tour. They let us use their laptop and internet in the living room to access our email. The husband even drove us in his car early Sun morning to the hotel where we were to meet our tour group.

There is a large common room with kitchenette for guests to use.

The B&B is only a couple of blocks off the bus route to the airport which was how we got to and from the B&B. The owners were very helpful with bus route guidance. The B&B is right at a trail head that leads to the coastal bike path. We enjoyed bike rides with the free bikes the B&B provides.

The breakfasts were excellent--delicious with good variety. They will give you a breakfast to go if you have to leave early.

We were very pleased with our stay and would stay here again if we ever visit Alaska again. It was perfect for us. We have no complaints--only thanks to our hosts for providing such a hospitable, homey place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borger
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Quiet B & B hotel, only 10-15 minutes walking from downtown Anchorage. Clean room in a cosy and warm admosphere. Clean shower and bathroom. Homemade breakfast and you can eat your belly full. Nice people. If you had to catch your plane early, this family gives a breakfastbag for the early "birds". You get a lot of towels too. Everything very clean. You also can use the downstairs kitchen. Very good !
The owner has a lot of knowledge of the history of Alaska. There is a free use of bicycles too. There is a phone inside this hotel.


Tony, the Netherlands, Europe

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Walkabout B&B and were very happy. It is centrally located and convenient to the things we were interested in doing and seeing. The room was comfortable, pleasant, nicely appointed and roomy. We are indebted to owner Sandy. Not only is she knowledgeable about all things Alaskan, but she steered us to a wonderful exhibit at the local museum. We highly recommend the Walkabout Town Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

A very nice B&B and we hope to come back next year and stay again. The rooms were comfortable, the staff friendly and willing to help with anything needed . Breakfast was very good with some nice choices. Just the kind of B & B we are always looking for but hardly ever find.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walkabout Town B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walkabout Town B&B

Address: 1610, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Walkabout Town B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed October - April 30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Walkabout Town B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walkabout Town B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.