We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flattop Trail Hike

Flattop Trail Hike
13229 Glen Alps Road, Anchorage, AK 99516
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 74 Activities in Anchorage
Type: Hiking Trails, Sports
Attraction details
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

You must visit Flattop trail! It is glorious. When I was up there many people were picking moss berries. You have a wonderful view of Anchorage up there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    109
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“awesome hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

i love the flattop trail - it is great exercise (gets quite challenging when you reach the top part of the trail, have to climb over a couple of rocks), amazing view of turnagain arm and anchorage. went there the other day to find tons of blueberries! gets busy on weekends so try to go on a weekday, then you can basically have to place to yourself!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice trail and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I'll keep this review simple - If you're a hiker than you'll definitely enjoy it. Definitely worth it if you're going to Anchorage. Check out the images on Google or TripAdvisor and decide for yourself.

There is a shuttle that leaves at 1:00 PM from the downtown bike rental shop however sometimes they bail at the last minute even when the weather is nice (which happened to us on a nice sunny day) so make sure that you have a plan B, and/or C.

Cheers,

Martin

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California, USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great excercise, potentially great views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We shuttled via Downtoan Bike Rentals with Peter. He knows exactly what he is doing and his advice is right on. We went on a foggy day. We appreciated the berries and the exercise but were robbed of views. We can only imagine how beautiful the peak views would be if it were clear. It's an easy climb until you get to the rocks at the top. But there are many footholds and handholds to help you scramble up. Take it slow and you'll be fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great day hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I loved hiking to the top! The view all the way up was absolutely stunning! We didn't want to miss a single photo opportunity so we took our time and stop to take photos! One you get to the second part is where I would like to warn people. The hike is great but you do have to climb up steep rocks to get to the top and coming down is pretty scary as the small rocks slide as you are coming down. I would highly recommend wearing hiking boots and bring bug spray!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flattop Trail Hike also viewed

 

Been to Flattop Trail Hike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flattop Trail Hike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.