We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bucket list item- Great Adventure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rust's Flying Service

Rust's Flying Service
4525 Enstrom Circle, Anchorage, AK 99502
907-243-1595
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a flight our float planes to the real Alaska whether flight seeing glaciers and mountains, bear viewing at remote lodges and national parks or fly in fishing. We've been flying people to Alaska's wilderness since 1963; located at Lake Hood in Anchorage, Alaska.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A bucket list item- Great Adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Denali/McKinley tour was breathtaking and adventurous. Up close and personal with the mountains, glaciers and the Alaskan terrain is what Rust's promised and delivered! We boarded the small plane on floats (skis in the winter) and started the 40 mins commute to the mountain range. Flying between and around the mountains was beautiful and exciting and nerve-wracking. Our pilot, Justin, was very knowledgeable and confident. After the mountains, we landed on a small lake and saw salmon swimming in the clear water, measured our hands against the bearprints and listened to a waterfall rushing. I could not have asked for a better adventure. I definitely would recommend checking the weather before choosing your tour-- Denali is best seen in blue skies. Don't forget your sunglasses--Rust's has extras if you do.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    16
    8
    4
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great air service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Rus't flying service has you covered. They have radar everywhere checking the weather. If where you wanted to go is fogged in they will give you other options. They are commited to showing you the best places in Alaska. Pilots are very experienced.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Great Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

So glad we did it! We had one and a half days in Anchorage and a friend recommended this. My friend is a sometime commercial pilot and said Rust's is family owned and has reputation for safety. So we booked the Denali/Mt. McKinley tour. I'm a frequent flyer but have never been in a small plane before, so I was anxious but looking forward to it.

The staff is friendly, professional, and punctual. It was a great trip and I highly recommend it to anyone. The flight was not scary in the least. I can't wait to do this again somewhere else. Definitely one for the memory book.

It can be rainy and cloudy often in Anchorage, so I recommend checking the weather prior to booking.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Forever Memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We are a family of 4, traveling with two teenagers. We had been sailing on the Norwegian Sun, and had booked transfers from Whittier to Anchorage. The bus company dropped us off at the Anchorage airport. Once at the airport, we jumped on the cell phone and called Rust's Flying Service.

They quickly came and picked us up and brought us to their office. We had been months earlier booked to fly to Denali for a flight seeing trip around McKinley -but the weather unfortunately didn’t agree. We would have to reroute to another area in order to enjoy anything worth seeing. It took several hours for them to have a plane available, but in the meantime they drove us to get lunch, and we spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing on their immaculate deck watching the planes take off and land. We were able to surf their wireless (so the teenagers were happy) and the afternoon passed quickly. Finally, we were ready! Our pilot, Henry, took us back down towards Portage glacier and Whittier (we even saw the Sun from above!) and then we went onward to where we could see SO many glaciers. He named them all for us as I snapped pics of everything along the way. We had a short landing on a glacial lake where we were able to walk around a bit and take some pictures (in the middle of NOWHERE!!). Everything was stunning and we loved every minute. When we were done with our flight (almost 3 hours later), the folks from Rust's drove us back to the airport. Our commercial flight left for home at 10:30ish, and we were ready to sleep the night away! It was an unforgettable experience, and we highly recommend booking your experience through Rusts.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beyond our Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

At first we were bitterly disappointed that our flight-seeing tour to Mt McKinley (Denali) was cancelled due to weather conditions. But then we were offered an alternative Glacier and Wildlife flight if we were ok with "bumpy" conditions. Ignorance is bliss and we accepted the offer and a van picked us up at our hotel within the hour. Only 3 of us were willing to brave the "bumpy" ride and so we joined bushpilot and photographer Mark Stadsklev for one of the greatest adventures ever. Mark is a seasoned pilot and published nature photographer so he knew just where to take us for the best views and pictures. They were fantastic. Yes, it was a bit like riding a bronco on a roller coaster but oh what a great ride it was. And to make up for our missing Denali, Mark actually landed on a small lake at the base of the glacier so we could have a first hand look at it's massive beauty. Taking off again was a little tricky but we were in the hands of a real pro. We saw a rainbow spanning a valley and snowy peaks, glaciers and rivers.It took my breath away. I highly recommend that you take one of Rust's tours and see Alaska from an entirely different angle - one of angels and fools.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rust's Flying Service also viewed

 

Been to Rust's Flying Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rust's Flying Service, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.