We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient and Easy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Railroad Depot

Alaska Railroad Depot
411 W. 1st Ave., Anchorage, AK (Downtown)
907/265-2494
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 87 Attractions in Anchorage
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks
Attraction details
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
138 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Efficient and Easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Clean station near the downtown area. Plenty of parking space and easy to approach. The luggage handling service was efficient and easy and boarding was quick.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    111
    38
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's A Rail Depot.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've been in more train stations than I can count. It's a station wherein one boards the train. It's not exactly an attraction in and of itself; certainly not like Grand Central or even, say, Gare du Nord. I passed through it in a hurry whilst I boarded the train. I do recommend the train, though.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best train ride through the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

we took the train as part of a tour and rode on the section of rail from Seward to Anchorage. The trip took just over 4 hours but the scenery was breathatking. We even saw sheep, moose and beluga whales on the way to Anchorage.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Slow discovery...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Everything is well organised, the carriage looks like a huge hall, the bar has a very nice Veggie sandwich ($6), the seats are comfortable (but unfortunately, no tables like in the European trains, so you will not be able to write those postcards you wanted to write!), and the trains walks you into a slow discovery of the landscape and surroundings.
Personnally, I wish they spoke less over the loud speaker ... It's a time to be with yourself, and the constant instructions (dont'walk here or there, go here or there), advertising (do theyvhave to read the menus?), or localinformation (sometimes useless), does not allow it that much.
But the lanscape is fantastic, the views unique, and the overall feeling, great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Way to go...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very organized, lots of room, employees very hospitable, lovely views, nice to be able to get up and go into the dome-shaped care for a bit. There was even a tour guide on board to answer any questions!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Railroad Depot also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Railroad Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Railroad Depot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.