We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make reservations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Brewhouse

Glacier Brewhouse
737 W 5th Ave, Ste. 110, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Downtown)
+1 907-274-2739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Glacier Brewhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 693 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $34
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: H
Transit: We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.
Description: You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, wood fired pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Make reservations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great food and atmosphere , but reservations are a must, especially on the weekends during the summer.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    637
    154
    43
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Repeat Restaurant for Us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

At the end of our Alaska vacation, we were referred to this restaurant. Very popular place and busy, but we found a table right away. The food was great as was our waitress. The only disappointment was that they were out of the berry crisp for dessert. No problem because we returned the next night to indulge in that. Also added the bread pudding. The sauce for the bread pudding is what made it so yummy. I would highly recommend this place as a must-do for a trip to Anchorage.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant, which I highly recommend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our family of four, including two adult children, really enjoyed our experience at this restaurant. It was one of our first meals during our vacation in Anchorage and it was stellar! Excellent food (loved the halibut), great beer selections, rich dessert options, friendly and accommodating staff, and a lively enjoyable atmosphere. A bit on the pricey sie, but worth it. Recommend making reservations to avoid a long wait as this place is popular! Convenient downtown location within walking distance of several hotels and B&Bs. Would definitely go again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Trendy, bustling place - Expensive but good food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lots of people and popular place - very busy. Casual atmosphere but still expensive menu. We had a salmon and tuna dish. Both were well prepared and nicely presented but pricey IMO. The beer selection great. Had a brown ale that was tasty. Their house signature chowder soup - mediocre - wouldn't recommend. Spinach salad was good. Probably best to make reservations on-line ahead of time if you know when you will be in town. That is what we did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place in the heart of downtown.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere and amazing drinks and food. You can't ask for more... After eating the Alaskan Halibut I would have continued to eat the plate if possible. Also, the crab bites appetizer was amazing to say the least!! Must go for a nice sit down dinner in Anchorage.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to Glacier Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Brewhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.