We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining and brew!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Brewhouse

Glacier Brewhouse
737 W 5th Ave, Ste. 110, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Downtown)
+1 907-274-2739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Glacier Brewhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 693 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $34
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: H
Transit: We are one block from the 6th Avenue bus terminal.
Description: You will know the moment you walk in that this is not your typical brew pub. The scent of the alder wood grill and wood fired oven, the energy of the sparking exhibition cooking line and the glow of the brewery delight your senses. The BrewHouse features rotisserie grilled meats, the freshest Alaskan seafood, wood fired pizza and award winning hand crafted ales. The BrewHouse is Anchorage’s downtown landmark restaurant-“Where Alaskans meet Alaskans”.
Edina, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great dining and brew!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This gem of a spot in downtown Anchorage is our dinner spot whenever we are in town. You can smell the delicious Alderwood planked Salmon wafting down 5th Avenue! Not only does the Brew House brew a variety of great beer which is available in "growlers" to go, the food is outstanding. Glacier Brew House is open for lunch and dinner. Some of our favorites are the Blackened Alaskan Rockfish, the King crab legs and of course the Salmon. Start with the Calamari and the Brewgouse Blue salad. End with thier delicious World famous Bread pudding or my husband's favorite the original peanut Butter Pie. Ask for a table near the gorgeous fire place and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    637
    154
    43
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo B.C.
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Great Food, Reasonably Priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

In my opinion the Brew House is one of the better pub style restaurants in Anchorage. Meals are excellently prepared. The servers are also excellent and knowledgeable about the Brew House menu. Service is very prompt and the servers are friendly and courteous. Prices are mid range high but the food is exceptional, especially the fish. The King Salmon when in season is a must order for any fish lover. They server their own, on site brewed beer and its delicious. It is one of the best restaurants in Anchorage.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we've been to in Alaska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent food - we always get the calamari and the citrus/wasabi salad; clam chowder is also excellent. Even my daughter's italian soda was exceptional. Only complaint - soda water tastes very odd, but the excellent beer makes up for that. Who drinks soda water anyway? Very professional, courteous and relatively fast service. Prices very typical for Anchorage.
Glacier Brewhouse is hands down our favorite restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good halibut!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Favorite place to eat in Anchorage , the halibut is awesome, my husband likes their ribs, kids meal very good. May have a wait if you walk in, call for reservations. Great food and awesome service every time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Brewery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place came highly recommended by people in Anchorage, most of whom recommended it after we'd already gone here. Great pizza and a great selection of beer. Will definitely come back on our next visit to Anchorage.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Brewhouse also viewed

 

Been to Glacier Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Brewhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.