We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, family friendly setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Tooth Theatrepub & Grill

Bear Tooth Theatrepub & Grill
1230 W 27th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99503
907-276-4200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 683 Restaurants in Anchorage
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food, family friendly setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We love heading to Bear Tooth when we're looking for good pizza or fresh mex! While Moose's Tooth is great, we hate the wait. At Bear Tooth, you can get most of the same pizza and all of the same beer in a much better time frame. No two hours of waiting with dozens of tourists and families.
We love the Mexican food and the family friendly setting. They also have great seasonal specials. We've only been for dinner. We love the pizza, and the Mexican is excellent. Everything is always so fresh, and we've always had friendly wait staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    92
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An anchorage gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Bears Tooth is owned by the same owners of Mooses Tooth. The menu differs slightly from Mooses Tooth but nothing to disapoint. You can $4 to see a good movie, or pay alittle extra for a booth in the theater. Its separated so under 21 is upstairs (dry side) and over 21 (wet side) are downstairs. This doesnt mean someone whose over 21 cant go upstairs, just booze cant. This was very pleasing when watching "The Worlds End". Every now and then they have live broadcasts. This past November they did it for the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special. Including in the past have shown the World Cup games on screen. They also have a food film festival thats entertaining.

If your looking for a place that doesnt cost an arm and a leg for fun, want good food and maybe some beers too, go here. :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have eaten many times at the Bear Tooth and had some good meals and some not so good. Yesterday will probably be the last time we gamble on their food. I ordered the blackened fish tacos and my husband ordered the Bahn Mi Burger. The blackened fish on the tacos was just one small piece of fish for each taco. It was seasoned nice and cooked properly. It came with the usual taco additions but the flour tortillas they were served on were cold and dry. The Bahn Mi burger that my husband ordered was also served on a cold, dry bun.The burger itself was dry, bland and barely any sauce on it. They do make awesome fries but that's not enough to make up for the poor entrees. I am very sorry to write this review. I want to like the Bear Tooth, really I do. I love the way they change their specials every three weeks or so and I look forward to their new creative offerings. The service has always been great. I have had some delicious food there but more often than not, I leave there disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer, great shows!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Whether you're in the theater watching a month old flick for a few bucks while having food served to you and drinking a beer or cocktail, in the Grill enjoying amazing rotating seasonal special meals, or in the even more casual cafe, this theatrepub is a Great place to spend an afternoon or evening with friends and family!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We expected to really enjoy this restaurant. Beer, mexican, pizza, what's not to like? Well, unfortunately, quite a lot, actually. The food was flavorless and strange. I really hope this isn't Alaskans' idea of Mexican food. The food quality was quite low. It had a homemade or home cooking kind of feel and presentation. None of the three family members who went to this restaurant enjoyed their meals and one later got very ill. The beers were passable and I wish we had just stuck to beer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Tooth Theatrepub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bear Tooth Theatrepub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Tooth Theatrepub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.