We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh.My.Word! Don't miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snow City Cafe

Snow City Cafe
1034 W 4th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-1919
+1 907-272-6338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 618 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Vegetarian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Oh.My.Word! Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food and great local atmosphere. I had stuffed French toast and sausage patty! My husband had crabby eggs Benedict. Both dishes were wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    296
    68
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, good way to start the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ate here our first morning in Anchorage, and were glad we did. We got there at 7:00 and had only a short wait to be seated, but it did fill up completely very soon. Service was a great combination of laid back but attentive, and the eggs were excellent. My only complaint is that they should offer better tea options than Lipton for we tea drinkers of the world.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place is popular with the locals for a reason. There is a wait, but it's worth it for sure. They offer coffee and seating while you wait and you can also grab a cool T shirt or read all of the local ads that are taped up - makes for a fun way to pass the time and before you know it ... breakfast is served! The menu is really robust and the quality of the food and service are both great. I happened to order an item called "deadliest catch" which is a combination of 2 kinds of benedict (my favorite for breakfast) there was a salmon and a crab. I'd definitely recommend the crab over the salmon for next time but both were great! Everything I saw come out of the kitchen looked delicious. This is a cool place - definitely take it in while in Anchorage if you can.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Time was short but we made it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was a great lunch stop. We arrived just before noon and the place was packed - they told us 20 minutes wait for a table. We had a bus to catch at 1;30 but decided to wait - and a table came open in about 15 minutes. The staff was attentive and we were able to enjoy our meal with time to spare. Food was very good and helpings were generous.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Arrived at 7:30 on a Sunday morning. Was seated in the last available table and after that there was a line for a table which seemed to average about 20 minutes at that point. By 8:15 ther was a line out the door with what I imagine was a 40 min. Plus wait.
Definitely worth any wait. Grad a cup of the self serve coffee and enjoy people watching.
We had the deadliest catch (shared between 2) and it was great. Hollandaise was the best I've ever had, light and flavorful and added just the right amount of richness to the eggs. Hash browns were crunchy on the out side and steamy on the inside.
Also had the breakfast pastry sampler. Was good with a muffin, blueberry coffee cake, another dark bread and best of all a sticky pecan bun. We could have stopped there and been satisfied with our coffee. If you don't want the whole sampler be sure to order a sticky bun. Big enough to share with 4 people if you are satisfied with a couple bites. Sharing with 2 gives you all you could want.
Service was good and very pleasant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snow City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Snow City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.