We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, just old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   5000 A St, Highway 1 East/Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK 99503 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
Homer, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, just old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed in a Handicap Accessible King room. I have to give them credit, the room was very easy to maneuver in (I was on a knee scooter post surgery). The bathroom was set up nice, and they even provided a shower chair!

The heater/air conditioner was a little loud (it woke me up when it turned on a few times). Also, it was clear that the bedspread was left over from when smoking was more prevalent in rooms - there were two holes in it from what looked like cigarette burns. Lastly, our TV was "possessed" - we ended up having to unplug it. It would turn itself off and on 5 or 6 times. It looked like the Power Button had been mashed in, and so there was some sort of a short. My husband just ended up unplugging it after it flashed on and off around 11:30 at night.

It was clean and it appeared that the room had been well taken care of it, was just dated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you. Your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provides a memorable experience to our valued guests. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    26
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
28
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Anyone traveling to Anchorage in June knows that the sun stays up a longggggg time. You would think that motels and hotels would have sufficient window coverings to allow their guests to sleep (I need a dark room). But this place had regular drapes that barely covered the glass surface-so sleep was impossible....and at $141 + change! I thought that a good night's sleep would have been a reasonable request. Never mind the dirty sock in the corner of the room, the woman across the hall yelling for her husband to "GET OUT"!!!!! over and over and over again (or maybe she was yelling at herself) whatever....this is a no-frills kinda' place. No cutsie shampoo or lotion samples provided in the bath...oh no...don't expect much....just prepare to be 'way overcharged.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crisfield
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Booked a room here after seeing the reviews and the rates other hotels wanted in Aug. Not fancy but very clean and neat. We only needed a place for 1 night and it saved us money. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I'm usually not hard to please when it comes to travel accommodations. As long as it's clean, has what I need, and I get a good nights rest, I'm set. I was at this Motel 6 for a business trip to Anchorage, and while the lack of cleanliness was borderline, it was the noisiness that just completely ruined everything for me. Either management doesn't know how to pragmatically handle rowdy customers or the walls are too thin. Maybe both. Definitely stayed elsewhere the next time I was in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stay in Anchorage once a month in the winter and decided to stay at the Motel 6 instead of the Clarion downtown where we usually stay. The hotel is a no frills hotel, clean, with comfortable beds however we will not stay there again. The people in the room next door hollered, talked loud, and slammed doors most of the night. I called the front desk at 1:45 a.m. to complain and was told they would see what they could do which was apparently nothing. Finally at 3 a.m. they quieted down, but at 7 a.m. started screaming at each other and slamming the doors, which started their kids crying very loud. I went to the front desk and the clerk acted surprised when I told her about the problem. There is no way they could not have heard them since it was on the 1st floor fairly close to the office.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My experience of staying at this Motel 6 is as I expected - big, clean, basic room.
I had a good sleep while on a short stay here, however, my friend who is more of a light sleeper find some trouble doing so because there is little noise that could be heard during the night. And yes, I believe animals are allowed since I heard a dog barking in the morning. That does not bother me, but it may affect other guests.
Airport shuttle to hotel is available if one doesnt have a rental car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have stayed here on a couple of occasions because it is one of the cheapest hotels in the area, especially in the summer. The most recent visit will be our last. They advertise that pets are allowed and canbe left in the room if in a crate. When we arrived we were told that the dog could not be left in the room at all. This meant that in August we had to take our dog in the car everywhere. Thankfully it was cloudy and not too warm so she was OK, but definitely not the ideal. Beds were really soft on the last trip and could not get comfortable at all. Rooms are very small. Wifi was not available. Called the front desk and they were not at all helpful.The clincher for us not returning was seeing a mouse by the elevators on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown

Address: 5000 A St, Highway 1 East/Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK 99503
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Motel Six Anchorage
Anchorage Motel 6
Anchorage Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.