We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown to your Saves list
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   5000 A St, Highway 1 East/Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK 99503 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed for two separate nights during a trip to Alaska this August. The location is approximately half way between Ted Stevens and downtown Anchorage. Courtesy shuttles were prompt and the trip to the city is about a $15 taxi ride. As for dining options, there's a restaurant in the neighbouring Crowne Plaza. A few other options exist in the mall across the main road. Wi-Fi worked perfectly well in the room, which was clean and spacious. Considering the hotel prices in Alaska in summer, this place served the purpose between flights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Motel 6 Anchorage. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, I will share your comments with our team.
We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
29
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were looking for an inexpensive hotel close to the airport to spend 1 night at prior to renting an RV in Anchorage. This fit the bill. Not fancy or new but close, clean and comfortable enough. Plenty of places around to get some food.

Room Tip: I recommend asking for the top floor at the end of the hall or you may hear people walking above whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, MN.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed in this motel for 2 nights. Very basic Motel 6, small room, two beds, bathroom. Room was clean, beds were okay, pillows terrible. Shocking to pay $150/night for a basic Motel 6 room, but everything in Alaska is expensive. I understand that most things need to be shipped into Alaska, but certainly not motel rooms! Used the laundry room with no issues. For $150/night, it might be nice if they included a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Motel 6 Anchorage. It always good to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a Plain Jane hotel, but the room was clean and comfortable and that is what really counts. There are several vending machines and a small laundry room. Coffee available 24/7, but no breakfast. There is no workout room and definitely no pool. HOWEVER, I was very happy that the cable channels included Disney and Nick since I had my kids with me. All the prices in Anchorage are over inflated during the summer making the $150 I paid for this very basic room seem like highway robbery, but as I said, all the hotels are inflated and there is not much to choose from under $200 per night in the summer. Would stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Motel 6 Anchorage. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hop your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff was excellent, very friendly. The rooms are average, clean and a bit overpriced for a Motel 6, but whatever the market will bear, I guess. We stayed one night in Anchorage mainly to stock up on supplies for the rest of our Alaskan vacation. No complaints. We slept well, didn't hear other guests or outside noises.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Motel 6 Anchorage. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feed back.

Thank you again, we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as this one was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at this Motel 6 on our first night in Alaska because our plane was arriving super late and they "leave the light on for you". (HA! Advertising DOES work!) I was pleasantly surprised by this Motel. It was very clean, the front desk lady was super friendly, and it is conveniently located to both the airport and downtown. The area felt perfectly safe and we heard no noise from the neighboring rooms (hopefully we didn't provide noise for our neighbors arriving at 2:00 at night...) I would actually stay at this Motel 6 even longer. We stayed at 5 different hotels during our 9 days (from Anchorage to Fairbanks) and this one actually rated #3. Not bad considering it is one of the less expensive ones!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Motel 6 Anchorage. We are working very hard to ensure that our guests are completely satisfied. We are looking forward to your next stay with us at the Motel 6

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

As we have mentioned in other motel reviews .... We (husband and wife in our 60's) do not need a fancy place to stay while traveling. Our vacations are not planned around a hotel / motel as a destination point.

This Motel 6 is located very conveniently to the Ted Stevens airport.

We simply need a reasonable priced, clean place to sleep. Motel 6 in Anchorage met our needs perfectly. At a cost of $140.00 we felt that this was reasonable and fair. We were greeted by a friendly attentive young man when we arrived and given our choice of floor to stay on. Our room was clean.

We needed to wash and dry some clothes and were happy with the guest laundry facility on the 2nd floor. The motel does not have a continental breakfast, but does have fresh coffee and hot water (for tea). We do not need a "free" breakfast as we prefer to explore and dine at local favorite places, for a greater experience while in an area.

One item that may need some attention was that the elevator had a musty smell, maybe even cigarette smoke? I'm sure this can be corrected by the motel staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Motel 6 Anchorage. Your feedback is very important to us it helps us to continually improve upon our service and hopes that it will provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown

Address: 5000 A St, Highway 1 East/Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK 99503
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Motel Six Anchorage
Anchorage Motel Six
Anchorage Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.