We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown to your Saves list
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   5000 A St, Highway 1 East/Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK 99503 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Shorewood, MN.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed in this motel for 2 nights. Very basic Motel 6, small room, two beds, bathroom. Room was clean, beds were okay, pillows terrible. Shocking to pay $150/night for a basic Motel 6 room, but everything in Alaska is expensive. I understand that most things need to be shipped into Alaska, but certainly not motel rooms! Used the laundry room with no issues. For $150/night, it might be nice if they included a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Motel 6 Anchorage. It always good to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
22
33
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a Plain Jane hotel, but the room was clean and comfortable and that is what really counts. There are several vending machines and a small laundry room. Coffee available 24/7, but no breakfast. There is no workout room and definitely no pool. HOWEVER, I was very happy that the cable channels included Disney and Nick since I had my kids with me. All the prices in Anchorage are over inflated during the summer making the $150 I paid for this very basic room seem like highway robbery, but as I said, all the hotels are inflated and there is not much to choose from under $200 per night in the summer. Would stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Motel 6 Anchorage. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We hop your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff was excellent, very friendly. The rooms are average, clean and a bit overpriced for a Motel 6, but whatever the market will bear, I guess. We stayed one night in Anchorage mainly to stock up on supplies for the rest of our Alaskan vacation. No complaints. We slept well, didn't hear other guests or outside noises.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Motel 6 Anchorage. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feed back.

Thank you again, we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as this one was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at this Motel 6 on our first night in Alaska because our plane was arriving super late and they "leave the light on for you". (HA! Advertising DOES work!) I was pleasantly surprised by this Motel. It was very clean, the front desk lady was super friendly, and it is conveniently located to both the airport and downtown. The area felt perfectly safe and we heard no noise from the neighboring rooms (hopefully we didn't provide noise for our neighbors arriving at 2:00 at night...) I would actually stay at this Motel 6 even longer. We stayed at 5 different hotels during our 9 days (from Anchorage to Fairbanks) and this one actually rated #3. Not bad considering it is one of the less expensive ones!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Motel 6 Anchorage. We are working very hard to ensure that our guests are completely satisfied. We are looking forward to your next stay with us at the Motel 6

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

As we have mentioned in other motel reviews .... We (husband and wife in our 60's) do not need a fancy place to stay while traveling. Our vacations are not planned around a hotel / motel as a destination point.

This Motel 6 is located very conveniently to the Ted Stevens airport.

We simply need a reasonable priced, clean place to sleep. Motel 6 in Anchorage met our needs perfectly. At a cost of $140.00 we felt that this was reasonable and fair. We were greeted by a friendly attentive young man when we arrived and given our choice of floor to stay on. Our room was clean.

We needed to wash and dry some clothes and were happy with the guest laundry facility on the 2nd floor. The motel does not have a continental breakfast, but does have fresh coffee and hot water (for tea). We do not need a "free" breakfast as we prefer to explore and dine at local favorite places, for a greater experience while in an area.

One item that may need some attention was that the elevator had a musty smell, maybe even cigarette smoke? I'm sure this can be corrected by the motel staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Motel 6 Anchorage. Your feedback is very important to us it helps us to continually improve upon our service and hopes that it will provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We didn't expect much but we arrived in the middle of the night, got a friendly greeting and got two rooms at the end of the hall, top floor. The rooms were nice and clean, and we couldn't hear a sound from other rooms and the location between the airport and town was very good. No complaints from us! There was free coffee in the am and reasonably priced items in the vending machine to hold us off til we got some breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Motel 6 Anchorage. I am delighted that you left our hotel with pleasant memories. We are looking forward to your next stay with us at the Motel 6.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Thin walls and noisy clientele means you might be up at 3am writing a negative review while the staff does nothing to address the problem. Could be cleaned better. Towels had several strands of hair on both towels. Urine or blood stains in bathroom. Blanket smelled like someone used it to wipe their bottom. I've tried to give the place a chance several times and have been disappointed each time. STAY AWAY!!!

Room Tip: Go to another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia A, General Manager at Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
2.9 mi away
GuestHouse Anchorage Inn
GuestHouse Anchorage Inn
#35 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#37 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
1.9 mi away
Puffin Inn
Puffin Inn
#40 of 71 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#32 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown

Address: 5000 A St, Highway 1 East/Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK 99503
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Motel Six Anchorage
Anchorage Motel 6
Anchorage Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.