We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value in Anchorage but sacrifices customer service, high noise level” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   5000 A St, Highway 1 East/Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK 99503 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“best value in Anchorage but sacrifices customer service, high noise level”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have often stayed here because it is a low price but you sacrifice the little extras that can make it a good overnight experience. It is a fairly new motel 6 located by 2 very nice hotels. The rooms are very nice and clean. The walls are thin and you can hear others in neighboring rooms. The staff are often inconsistent and can be rude. Check-out time is noon but you will get raps on the door by cleaning staff and they will even get very loud in the hallway to make sure that you leave before noon. There are vending machines in lobby to purchase snacks and there is a microwave and free coffee. Winter rates are cheaper but then you get the local customers which are not always quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    24
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
26
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I don't need a 5-star stay to make me happy with a hotel, however I do expect good service, clean rooms, and a pleasant stay.

When we arrived, we were greeted by staff on their cell phones, eyes down. Once we got their attention, it was quite the process to get our keys made. The elevator was scary and smelly, and the luggage carts were falling apart. Our room was nice, but the sheets were very coarse and uncomfortable. The walls were so thin that someone in the hotel was having sex--and being very loud about it--and we heard them like they were in our room.

I'm aware that some activities occur in hotels, but I would have expected some more sound deadening, as we could also hear someone's TV at 7am.

The WiFi didn't work, and we were trying to plan our day in Anchorage and do some business. Had to go down to the desk for the only pleasant experience of the whole trip--the desk clerk at night was very kind and helpful. She didn't know anything about how the WiFi worked, but tried to help me out. We ended up having to call their ISP to fix it, and it finally got it working for us.

If it weren't for that kind woman at the desk, it would have been a very poor experience. Some of your staff are inattentive, but this woman was a great customer serviceperson! (Thank you, woman whose name I can't remember!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have booked our hotel in Anchorage far in advance. Even then many hotels were no longer available and we were happy to find this hotel available still at a really good rate by comparison to many other hotels in the area. Booking directly online on the hotel chain web site saved us $10 per night off the rate quoted on other travel web sites. Clean, well located next to many other much more expensive hotels. Bring your own shampoo, as the chain does not provide any.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainchick51
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Obviosly this is a motel, not a 4 star hotel. It was okay. The main reason we stayed here wasbecause they have smoking rooms, because other hotels that allow smoking, like the Hilton, were booked the weekend we went on short notice. I have walked into smoking rooms before that didn't smell like cigarette smoke, but this was not the case at this motel. It smelt like there were several unemptyed ashtrays in the room. The one good thing was that the bedding didn't smell like cigarette smoke. The other part that was not good, was in the middle of the night there were drunks in the hall, that were making a big commotion, but the staff did take care of it. Also there were some people in the parking lot that were fighting. Other than those issues, it was to be expected at this type of motel. It is a newer motel six, which made it a nicer motel than most.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Quite a good motel close to Anchorage airport.
The rooms were clean, nice and spacy, coffee and tea provided in the lobby.
Free shuttle to the airport.
Wi-Fi did not work but was immediately fixed when I announced it - it is a good sign.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The best part about Midtown Motel 6 was that it was clean. There is nothing extra - not even a hair dryer. The hotel didn't even have one available at the front desk. The lobby is spartan, offering only lukewarm coffee. Adjacent to Motel 6, you can pay a bit more and get breakfast and many other amenities. Motel 6 is the place to stay on a budget if you ONLY want a bed and a hot shower.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was built just a few years ago and this was my first stay. The room was clean and basic but nice except for in the shower. There was a obvious line of black mold where the wall liner meets the tub. This has been there a while as there was run off streaks that made me notice it to begin with. Amazing that the housekeeping staff would just ignore it instead of just cleaning it. My co-workers who stayed in a different wing had issues with the people upstairs thumping around after midnight and drunks arguing in the halls as well. I know that this can happen at any hotel but, this happened on more than one evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown

Address: 5000 A St, Highway 1 East/Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK 99503
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Motel Six Anchorage
Anchorage Motel 6
Anchorage Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.