We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A RARE Reasonable Gem in Anchorage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown to your Saves list
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   5000 A St, Highway 1 East/Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK 99503 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Huntington, Arkansas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A RARE Reasonable Gem in Anchorage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed at some other Motel 6's and this is by far the best we have stayed at. Nice size, location, clean, good bed, quiet. No complaints here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
29
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midwest-USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here overnight before heading out for the week to points north and south in Alaska. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and adequate for an overnight stay. I was grateful that the front desk had hair dryers available to use. I was also surprised that they had an area set up for fresh coffee or tea in the morning, just off from the front desk. The rates were reasonable, and I would recommend this establishment to anyone looking just for a place to spend the night while in Anchorage. It was about a $13-14 ride to the airport.

Room Tip: There is a nice restaurant, called Juno, adjacent to the motel that is within walking distance. Goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were lucky to get this room on a busy nite in Anchorage. I thought we would have to take a smoking room but we did not. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff helpful also. Shuttle was fine to the airport. I was not sure how this room would be as Motel 6 has often had a bad reputation...but I was pleasantly surprised. And I would try Motel 6 again for a simple room. Wish they served a breakfast!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent 1 night here while on an Alaska vacation. The room was small, definately dated, but clean. The location is not far from the airport or downtown. A Wal-mart is a few blocks away if you need anything. The hall smelled smokey but the room didn't. There is free coffee in the morning, but no breakfast of any kind. We would probably spend more and stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

If you just need a place to crash on the cheap then this is it. Otherwise, beware that it's right next to a busy road(one of the main thoroughfares of Anchorage), the bed is somewhat stiff, pillows flat as bag of fertilizer, air conditioner from 1970's, tube(not flatscreen) and nothing on the walls. Looks like a former hospital it's so sterile. About the only thing good about this place is the price, so stay here if you're on a budget, otherwise look elsewhere. Lastly, I was in room 100, which is bottom floor at the end by the road, everytime the AC unit in the hallway of the 2nd floor kicked on I could hear it as a loud hum laying in bed.

Room Tip: Do not get a room at the end of a floor, you'll hear the ac unit in the hallway pretty badly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights while I was in town. During the summer months hotels are incredibly expensive. If you just need a cheap, clean place, this place is just fine. Understand that there are NO frills here. The rooms are bare bones but clean. The walls are very thin so noise could be an issue. Coffee and tea are supplied in the lobby. There is also an airport shuttle. This hotel is also walking distance to quite a few restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Newer property, best I've seen in Anchorage for the price. The rooms are small and the hallways smell like smoke, but my room was clean, somewhat recently updated, and smelled fresh. Pets stay free, which is a huge bonus for me, and the pet room I was in didn't smell like smoke or urine, which is often (frustratingly) the case. This is the only hotel in Anchorage under $100 that I would stay at again. Racheal at the front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown

Address: 5000 A St, Highway 1 East/Seward Highway, Anchorage, AK 99503
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Motel Six Anchorage
Anchorage Motel Six
Anchorage Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Anchorage Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.