We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened to Pete's?!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Peter's Sushi's Spot

Peter's Sushi's Spot
3020 Minnesota Dr, Anchorage, AK 99503-4145
(907) 276-5188
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 684 Restaurants in Anchorage
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“What happened to Pete's?!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

When Pete's Sushi Spot reopened in Anchorage in its current location, it got rave reviews. But we've been a few times and I haven't been impressed. Their sushi runs to the very very hot style, which I don't much like. But last night's meal was a truly big disappointment. Maybe just because it was a Tuesday night in September, but it was just unacceptable. The only well-prepared part of the meal was the tempura which was hot and crisp. The sushi was adequate, but not much better than the deli department at Safeway. The teriyaki was a sorry excuse for a dish - sauteed chicken with sauce poured over it. Similarly my dish was pieces thrown together with sauce poured on them. It was sloppy with liquid, no blending of flavors, and some off flavors of canned items added without being rinsed of whatever holding liquid they'd been in. The seafood components were good, but sloppily handled.

They also didn't time our meals to arrive at the same time. Mine didn't arrive until my husband was nearly done. The waitress was very apologetic but the cooks just have no idea what they should be doing.

No, I don't think that we'll try again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top Gun in Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The best flavors, selections and ingredients. The Crunch Roll and Eel are exceptional.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great sushi, ambiance and sake list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is listed as a Korean restaurant but it's really a sushi place run by Korean Americans. The sushi is excellent -- traditional selections as well as trendy rolls. The sake list is the best in Alaska. Friendly but unobtrusive service, fair prices, and, despite its location in a forgettable Spenard strip mall, nice decor and good ambiance.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding sushi and Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Having dined at the previous incarnation of Pete's during my last stay in Anchorage, I had been eager to eat here again. I remembered vividly the filling meals of sushi, sashimi, and/or hot food started off by miso and salad. Apart from the relocation and accompanying change in decor, I pleased to find that nothing had changed.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pete's is back - great new location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Pete's has reopened. Beautiful new restaurant. Very classy for a strip mall - similar to Giger's decor. Lot's of friendly staff. Great rolls. Very Interesting mango and tuna roll. Spider roll always a favorite.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter's Sushi's Spot also viewed

 

Been to Peter's Sushi's Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter's Sushi's Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.