We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arctic Roadrunner

Arctic Roadrunner
2477 Arctic Blvd, Anchorage, AK 99503-2513 (Midtown)
907-279-7311
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 684 Restaurants in Anchorage
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Anchorage, AK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Great food. Most of the time the staff is great but last time girl at register really acted like she didn't want to be there and was almost rude to us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    46
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I took my girlfriend who was from out of town to the Arctic roadrunner on Arctic, as I had told here on good the food is. Well I was so embarrassed by the food we ordered. The fries were soggy and cold, the home made onion rings were greasy and did not have any breading on them. Her burger was cold and did not taste the best. I had the halibut sandwich and it was small and cold. More bun than fish. I always go to the Old Seward restaurant and have never had food or service like I had here. The service was not good, all the tables were dirty and had not been cleaned off, even though they had 4 employees working. The owner needs to invest in some new carpet, as the carpet was so dirty. Turned me off to even think what the kitchen would look like. Enough is enough you have been in business long enough to invest some of your profits into your business again and bring it back to the old days. I will never step foot into your Arctic restaurant again and will not recommend this to anyone again. Poor service and cold food and dirty building.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

2 locations. One on Old Seward just past International Airport Rd. That one is a must go to if you would like to enjoy great burgers or my favorite smoked turkey sandwich by Campbell Creek. There are tables outside right by the creek and ducks and seagull visit. That location is called Local Burgerman. Other location is on Arctic just off Fireweed and has a drive through. Same good food!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food, great values”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The owner has a wonderful faith based life of treating others as he would like to be treated. He came from nothing to build something for himself and gives to others. What a great man, a great story, a great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place as it is vey popular with the locals however it has a few challenges. The first challenge is the very greasy food. Yes I understand that we are eating burger joint fair however the grease in the food was in excess. Next is the decor which desperately needs cleaning as well as refreshing touch-ups. Finally is the lack of the use of credit and debit cards. They do have an ATM for guest use however it seems to be a bit of a scam.

On the positive the store honors their regular customers on the walls. This bonds the store well with the community. Another positive is the actual flavor o the burger (beyond be greasy) was fresh and distinct. Finally I enjoyed the fresh fixings stations for adding to you sandwich. I will try this place again soon in hopes of a better (less greasy) eating experience.

So, maybe go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arctic Roadrunner also viewed

 

Been to Arctic Roadrunner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arctic Roadrunner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.