We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place for a "home base"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 3 more sites!
Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage
100 E Tudor Rd, Anchorage, AK 99503 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Juneau, AK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent place for a "home base"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for a work trip to Anchorage for my husband. It was clean and decent. Staff was okay but they didn't bowl you over with friendliness. The layout was slightly unique....when you came in the front door you had to wind your way through another door and down a hall and around a corner just to get to the front desk. This hotel would be good if you were sightseeing around Anchorage for awhile and needed a home base. There was a kitchenette with 2 burners, microwave and full-size refrigerator. Because of this, there was no breakfast included. There is also no daily housekeeping service. If you want new towels you need to go to the front desk. The bed itself was comfortable. There was also a good selection of TV stations along with a DVD player even. The wi-fi was a little flaky with iPads.....sometimes it kicked you off every time you closed the cover. And then sometimes it kept you on all day. The shower head was one of those where the water only flows through an outer ring; there was no water coming down in the middle so it took a little longer to rinse off. All in all, it was okay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
7
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is barely a hostel. The bed covering had MULTIPLE “ large stains” on it, the bathroom had random hairs on the sink, bathtub and toilet, the carpet was sticky for some unknown reason and the iron was terrible, when used is just skidded across my shirts creating more permanent wrinkles then what I started with from the suitcase travel. This place is a dump! Terrible customer service at the front counter, nobody willing or able to assist. By the way, I am still waiting for my 6:00 a.m. wake up call…a week later.

Room Tip: Here is a tip to choose a good room, DON'T STAY HERE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This place is great if you want to save some cash and stay somewhere more basic and hands off. No breakfast - that is ok, there is a Starbucks next door. The elevator was jumpy and slow ... took the stairs as much as possible. The room was clean and i believe this place is new so everything is up to date which is nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I traveled to Alaska for work and my Company put me at the Aspen Hotel, it is an nice place to stay. I would recommend it to persons who are traveling here. The Staff are always there to help. It is however the only hotel I have seen that does not have a 24 hour desk. The house keeping keeps the hotel nice and the rooms very clean, there is always coffee out for you no matter what time of day. At night they have security, if you have the chance to run into them they are great to talk to. The security guard Ryan, was great he even helped my search in finding a longer term housing situation in Alaska. He was very knowledgeable about the city. He is a bright young man if you chance to run into him, He also works the desk some days and is always there to help you no matter the situation. Also Sam who works the front desk most mornings is awesome. The folks there at the Aspen make is such and easy stay always trying to help and make your stay better. This hotel is in my top ten and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2nd-4th floors on the mountain side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Aspen Hotel at least 6 times in the last year. We live in the Valley, and in the winter when we have business or doctor appointments in Anchorage, Aspen is our preferred choice of many hotels in Anchorage to stay. The employees are very helpful and professional. Occasionally we need to use one of the two board rooms they have, which is another big plus. The Aspen is not only convenient but is clean and secure. There are so many good things about this hotel, including the location. It is close to Ted Stevens International Airport. The Aspen is located within walking distance to these restaurants, Starbucks, Fridays, I Hop, Applebee’s and others. We will continue to recommend the Aspen to our friends and family.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms facing Starbucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Yet another trip to Anchorage, and this time to the Aspen Suites Hotel in Anchorage. We went to this hotel because it is Alaskan-owned, and because many of our friends have stayed at the other Aspen locations and have enjoyed their experience.

First, the hotel is in a central location and we were able to get to many locations in Anchorage by taxi for ten dollars. The Aspen is a new hotel with nice amenities, including a fitness center, in-suite kitchenettes, spacious rooms and restrooms, free WiFi, and fresh coffee in the lobby. The staff was personable and courteous.

Only two issues with our stay. First, we came back to the hotel on Saturday afternoon and immediately met with the smell of what I presume was rotten fish being cooked. This smell lingered for three to four hours. I commend the staff for their efforts; they waded into the foul atmosphere and worked diligently to deodorizer the floor. The hotel can't really help what people decide to cook, but this will be a striking lesson that will dissuade me from booking at a hotel with in-suite kitchenettes in each room.

The second issue... the bed. The bed in our room had a lot of spring in it. So much spring, that I literally sprung off the edge of the bed on multiple occasions. Mind you, I am not a little guy at 300 pounds. The springy nature of the mattress even involved a late night, spring-aided ejection into the night stand. Once my wife and I settled into an agreeable position, we rested uneasily. The mattress felt very hollow, except for the high tension springs thrusting into our bodies. It made for two long, uncomfortable nights.

The Aspen Suites is a nice place, but we will not return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel was amazing, The front desk was great and the hotel was clean. At night if you are out late there are after hour security who are always there to help you. The Security was Awesome when asked at 3 a.m. they got coffee even when it was not on his list of to-do's. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling! It has a warm welcome and a homey feeling. They are trained professionals and great friends! I am not sure I'd stay anywhere else but there again. Thank You Aspen!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage

Address: 100 E Tudor Rd, Anchorage, AK 99503
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty lodging in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new 92 room all kitchenette suites hotel in Midtown Anchorage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage to your Saves list