We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One-night Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage

Save Saved
You added Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage
100 E Tudor Rd, Anchorage, AK 99503 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One-night Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My family and I stayed here for one night on a quick trip to Anchorage. It was a very nice room, could definitely see us staying here for a longer trip next time. We are AK residents so we got the AK Res discount, don't remember how much it was, but room was about what I thought it would be, it's AK so things are priced higher, but it didn't break the bank.
There was coffee in the lobby, but no continental breakfast of any kind. But, the room was well equipped for cooking if you wanted to have food in there.

Room Tip: Our floor was quiet, we were on #4. Not sure how the other floors are. I agree with another reviewer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
8
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

As long as this place remains in like-new condition, I highly recommend it! I stayed here for 3 nights and have mostly good things to say about this property. My room and the common areas were very clean. The room had a nice cable TV package and even had a DVD player. The kitchenette had a nearly full sized refrigerator, a two burner stovetop, and a full-sized microwave oven. All of the staff that I interacted with seemed pleasant and competent.

On the negative side, I felt that the rooms could use a decent arm chair or recliner. That olive green pull-out sleep-sofa was downright uncomfortable to sit on. The only other option for comfortable TV viewing was to lie on the bed, which I'm not keen about. Also, I find that weekly housekeeping inevitably leads to premature wear and tear on the rooms and furnishings. It's really unreasonable to expect a housekeeper to do a good job cleaning a room when he or she is only in there once per week.

Room Tip: Thermostat backlight is super bright and cannot be turned off. Be sure to bring something to hang o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel was obviously new. Everything was nice and clean. The beds were very comfortable our room had a microfridge. We were looking for inexpensive but clean and comfortable. Aspen was exactly that. No mints on the pillow but clean and reasonably priced for Alaska. I have stayed a properties that were not as nice for more money. We checked in very late (early am) and let them know we were coming so they had the security personnel looking for us with our key when we arrived.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The room rate for this new property was a little high, but this is Alaska and also is a residence hotel. There is no breakfast or room service, but we did not expect that. We were very pleased and will go again and recommend to anyone going to anchorage for a night or longer stay. Would have loved the kitchenette and used if staying for more then one night. We were on our way to McCarthy in the morning after flying into Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nome, AK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I will start off by saying, I've had none of the negative experiences noted in other reviews. It's worth noting this is a brand new property and some hiccups are to be expected. However, I found my room very nice and comfortably appointed. The kitchenette was a really nice bonus since I am currently watching my diet and this allows you to eat what you want and know what you're eating. It includes a small cooktop, microwave, and almost full size refrigerator. There is a workout room as well at this hotel. All that being said, this is designed as an extended stay hotel. Do not expect daily maid service - you only get it weekly. Also, there is no continental breakfast though they do provide Seattle's Best Coffee around the clock. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. I am planning to stay here again on another upcoming trip to Anchorage. While some might miss the daily maid service or breakfast, the outstanding rates that I hope don't disappear once this establishment becomes better known more than outweigh any inconvenience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South Side should be quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here a week on business and the building itself is nice and new. The rooms are large with kitchenette, comfy bed, coffee maker, television with full cable channels and DVD player, and large bathroom. Guest laundry available as well as excersise room (treadmill, and bike), free wi-fi. It is extended stay, so maid service is only once a week and the front desk closes at eleven and re-opens at six in the morning.

That being said - the clerks I encountered during my stay were sloppy and unprofessional. Not one of them looked me in the face when they were talking to me, and their uniforms fit poorly. That may sound picky - but when the person who's checking you into a hotel is bursting the seams on their uniform... it just gives a bad impression. Check in was slow, and painful.

The only reason I stayed here was because I was booked by my employer. Usually I stay at the Springhill Suites by Marriott when in Anchorage - overall it's a better property, offers continental breakfast, has a pool, and employes much better desk clerks. I wouldn't stay here again if I had the choice.

Room Tip: Higher floor is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogue River, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Quite Suite Hotel on E. Tutor in Anchorage. The hotel is a new residence type hotel. No breakfast or happy hour here, coffee is available in the morning at the front desk and coffee pots in the rooms. Rooms have kitchen, frig, micro stove etc. Room is cleaned once a week. Have a small gym. TGIF, Starbucks, and steak house next door. Stayed a week here on business.
Small flat screen tv, free internet which is pretty fast. Stayed here in the tourist season so prices of course are a little higher, still has that new smell. Would like to see a morning breakfast served but again Starbucks next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage

Address: 100 E Tudor Rd, Anchorage, AK 99503
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty lodging in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new 92 room all kitchenette suites hotel in Midtown Anchorage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.