We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the worst place I have EVER stayed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Royal Suite Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Suite Lodge to your Saves list
Royal Suite Lodge
3811 Minnesota Dr, Anchorage, AK 99503   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This is the worst place I have EVER stayed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Don't be misled by the name, many of the units are rented out on a month-to-month basis to people who curse at each other, fight, party, and bang around until 3:00 or 4:00 in the morning. If the pervasive filth and grime doesn't keep you from sleeping, the stench of smoke, the loud neighbors, and the worn out, painful, stained, and dirty matresses and bed linen will. This place is repulsive. There is mold and filth everywhere, and the appliances are broken and dirty. It is hit or miss with the shuttle drivers, one of whom is incredibly nasty and unaccomodating. The Alaskan native is still at the front desk, and he is incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, and decent. He is completely out of place. The young female at the front desk is just the opposite. She was completely unhelpful and rude.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    0
    33
See reviews for
5
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

we trusted Orbiz to provide us with a decent hotel but this cannot be defined as "hotel". please check all the reviews on the net above. all true and only tip of the ice!
it is a skatchy place, we slept with our money under the pillow, everything is rotten and disgusting.
drunk man hanging outside, noisy, and scary.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Ak
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

This is the worst hotel ever in alaska!! It's so dirty n gross , it stinks, there's bugs on the bed, there's old blood stains on the floor, the furniture is n broken, refridgerator looks like it wasn't cleaned and smells bad, furniture looks like there from the eighties, tub Looks all old n cracked, the floor is nasty not clean at all n that's all!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

The place had no A/C and the room was HOT! Street noise unbearable and noise through walls and ceilings was loud. No coffee maker in room - no hair dryer in room - no ironing board or iron in room. Watch out for low rates - you get less than you paid for here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

This is an older suites hotel that has been privately "redeveloped." I had some initial concerns, but it was economical in an expensive market and there weren't any really negative reviews in spite of a 1 or 2 star rating. We stayed 5 nights the first week in August. It isn't flashy or elegant - really looks like something that had its heyday in the 1970s in the lower 48. It appears that the owners are completing a process of updating, but not really by contractor standards.

We had reserved a single queen, but none available at check-in, and what we got was a roomy 2-bedroom with 2 queens and a full kitchen and adjoining living room. We've had smaller apartments. The room was impeccably clean, and although some things were worn or old (the sofa, table and chairs, kitchen cabinetry, key entry door), it was comfortable and the bathroom was updated (but the shower rod was bent and barely in place, joints were heavily spackled, the area for toiletries is confined to the a shelf below the mirror), but there were odd things, like a soft vinyl toilet seat. Water pressure and hot water seemed sufficient.

Both my wife and I slept well on the bed, without the backpain we commonly experience on hotel beds. The television was brand new - so new the remotes were on order because their universal remotes couldn't be programmed for them. (Can you imagine having to get up and cross the room to change the channel!) WiFi service was speedy enough for my needs.

The room was on the second floor, and opened to a walkway accessed by wooden outside staircases at the building ends. The living room and our bedroom faced a wooded back area and it was quiet. Cars were parked under long sheds covering the first floor entrances (it rains frequently, and it's a long winter). I wonder if I would like a first floor room like that. Also I wonder about a winter experience, because the furnace was a central wall forced air unit, and the windows were single-pane steel casements with a sense that they would pass cold air.

Our experience was good. The weekend was quiet enough, although we could hear running water and some noise (but not talking) from the adjacent unit bathroom. The cleaning crew was a boisterous group of 3 women who did a great job, including daily linen changes.

Motel access is a little odd in that you can only come at it from one direction on a busy divided street, and you can't just swing a u-turn at the next intersection. It takes a little planning for efficient access. It is convenient between downtown and the airport.

  • Liked — Good bed, good location, price
  • Disliked — Small bathroom, no TV remote
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

I will urge you not to stay here. The suite was big but dirty, and when we found that there was no hot water, the front desk simply said "there is nothing we can do." Despite all my reports and complaints, they did not try to fix the problem or give us any kind of compensation at all.

Orbitz sucks as well. The hotel price offered by Orbitz turned out to be higher than the price we could get by booking directly, and Orbitz added their service charge on top of the higher price. When I complained to Orbitz about no hot water, Orbitz ignored me altogether. This was the first time we reserved through Orbitz and definitely the last.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

The place is so dirty and smelled like hell.. Don't like they clean the room or change bed sheets for new people checking in..
Some of the front desk people where good like one of the native eskimoo senior man.. other front desk girls were the most unfrindly and rude people I have met on earth..We couldn't sleep and was waiting fro the morning to come so that we could head ahead with our rest of the tour...It is over proced for the quality it has..

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Suite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Suite Lodge

Address: 3811 Minnesota Dr, Anchorage, AK 99503
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Suite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Anchorage
Royal Suite Hotel
Royal Suite Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Suite Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.