We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Eklutna

Lake Eklutna
Chugach State Park, Anchorage, AK
907-345-5014
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 87 Attractions in Anchorage
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I will never forget my first trip to Eklutna Lake. I absolutely loved it there! It was the first place were I ever saw a moose in the wild, and every time I go to Alaska I always go here and just walk the beautiful trails.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    33
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Soldotna, Alaska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We do this one every spring cause it melts early and is nice and flat for the stroller. We havent biked it but it would be muddy if rainy as we had to skirt some muddy spots. We took a picnic lunch and ate along the lake watching the mountains and the kids played in the rocks and sand. You can take side trails up the peaks to improve your view. On the downside this trail can get really crowded on weekends with nice weather and the different user groups can lead to some near collisions. We were really irritated by the unleashed dogs invading our serenity but I guess that happens anywhere.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Trail Riding with spectacular scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The trail at Eklutna offers a great riding experience. Not much altitude change, easy riding for any mountain or fat bike. I rode to the Yuditna cabin, dropped off my sleeping gear, and kept riding. The glacial water is gorgeous on a sunny day. After an afternoon ride, I went back to the cabin and enjoyed beach walking, and a nice evening fire. HIghly recommended!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I'm so glad that we live close to Lake Eklutna. The lake, the area, the drive up is beautiful. There are bike trails, 4 wheel trails, camping hiking and kayak rental. We also saw our first bear up close here. Lake Eklutna is a must see any time of year!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Large Alpine lake with outdoor recreation opportunities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Largely undeveloped lake with campground, boat launch, hiking trails, viewable wildlife in the area include Dall sheep, black bear, moose, rabbits, and ptarmigan grouse.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Eklutna also viewed

 

Been to Lake Eklutna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Eklutna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.