We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Anchorage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4555 Union Square Drive, 4555 Union Square Drive, Anchorage, AK 99503   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #3 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
“Best in Anchorage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great staff, clean rooms and wonderful service. The front desk staff are very friendly, helpful and are very informative. Rooms are very clean and done up perfect. Parking is good too. We will be returning there with our entire family. The location is easy to get to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Judy N,

We are very happy to hear that your stay with us was wonderful! We work very hard to make sure our guests have a great stay, great food and great customer service. We look forward to your return! Please let us know if you'd like us to make the reservations for you.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    83
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
73
68
25
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Unalaska, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I always recommend the Garden Inn to fellow travelers when traveling through Anchorage. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the restaurant is excellent. I stay there at least every 6 months and have my crew stay there also. It is a good place for a training conference as they have some spacious rooms for meetings

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear James F,

It was great to see your comments here on TripAdvisor and I will definitely be sharing your comments with our staff. Chef Jay has been a great addition to our restaurant and it shows in his food, menu and the morale of the staff. Please let us know when you'll be passing through Anchorage again if you'd like us to make a reservation for you. Also, thank you for recommending us to your crew.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, CA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Check-in was great, had to switch to a double room and even though the hotel was almost full they made it happen. Great service and great breakfast! The lounge experience was good and the location was convenient. Overall it was a great stay. I would definetely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Michael G,

Thank you for your response on TripAdvisor! I'm very happy that we were able to accomodate your change in room type. Please feel free to contact us next time you are in Anchorage so we can reserve a room for you.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place offers an over the top level of service. But, I can say the best thing about staying at the Hilton Garden Inn are their breakfasts! Go with the A la cart part of the menu, many of the items come with eggs. The wait staff are fantastic and give great advice. Overall a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Jan G,

Thank you so much for the glowing review. Our staff has grown to be a special part of what makes Hilton Garden Inn a great place to stay while in Anchorage. Breakfast has lately been a talk of the town and we hope to continue these discussions with our great menu. Please feel free to contact us directly if you decide to visit Anchorage again soon since you're not too far away in Bethel.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The room was fine but the staff was not very accommodating or helpful. When our trip was delayed by a full day due to weather (airline cancellation of our flight), we immediately notified them and were told no problem - that the Hilton Honor's points used to pay for that night (of our multiple night reservation) would be returned to our account, and that the rest of our reservation would be retained. When we arrived the following day, we found out that our entire reservation had been cancelled. The front desk person argued with us about it and demanded to know the name of the person that we spoke with when we called. Finally, after some back and forth, we asked if there was a room available for us, and she said yes, so I don't understand why she was being so difficult. The next day, we wanted to use their shuttle service to take us 0.9 miles to the car rental company and they refused. When we got our bill, they overcharged us, however, they did promptly correct it when we brought it to their attention. All in all, not what we are used to from a Hilton property. The only reason we are giving it 3 stars instead of 2 is because of the comfortable bed and the very friendly service we got at breakfast.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Copen57,

I am sincerely sorry for the service you happened to receive here at our property. I would like to ask that you contact me at 907-729-7000 or Erik.Mendoza@Hilton.com. I'd like to see what we can do to regain your loyalty to the Hilton brand and show that this is not the typical service here. I have passed on your concerns to my Front Office Manager and we will discuss this type of service with all of our staff. I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed here for five nights in September 2013 for work, along with several of my colleagues. The hotel facilities themselves are fine, nothing special. In fact several of us talked about how noise the heater/air conditioner was, to the point that it actually woke us up sometimes. Some of my colleagues said they had noisy neighbors overhead or next door to them, but I didn't have a problem with that.

There is a small swimming pool, and a small but clean and functional fitness room that got quite a lot of use (2 elliptical machines, 2 treadmills, a stationary bike or two, one multi-exercise weight machine and some medicine balls).

The hotel is not downtown, and the nearby restaurants aren't as good as those downtown, so for us it worked well to have a rental car. I think others used the complimentary shuttle, which required that you show up at the front desk at least 15 minutes before you needed to go anywhere.

By far the best thing about this hotel was the staff. From the front desk to housekeeping to the wait staff in the restaurant, everyone was friendly and helpful and made real efforts to make things comfortable for us. We held an event with a meal one of the days we were there, and it went very smoothly. The food was delivered on time, there was plenty of it, and everyone agreed it was good.

We ate breakfast each morning in the hotel restaurant and really appreciated Catherine's friendliness and the pride she took in doing her job well. By our second day, she had already learned many of our preferences. In the evening, Brian waited on us. He was the nicest guy! How can everyone who works there always be so cheerful and polite? It speaks well of the management.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear TLDinPortland,

Thank you so much for your detailed and complimenting comments here on TripAdvisor. The staff here works extremely hard to offer our Hilton Promise of making every guest's stay outstanding. Catherine has been a wonderful addition to our breakfast team and I'm glad you were able to enjoy her great customer service. We are in the process of working on the heater/air conditioner noise with maintenance. We hope during the next trip you make to Anchorage you will make us your number one choice.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Room was clean and quiet. However, one would have to pay for the toothpaste if he/she forgets to bring one. At a rate of ~$200/ night, I expect a complementary small toothpaste upon request. Otherwise, everything else was pretty satisfactory.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Pei K,

I'm glad you were overall satisfied with your stay. As for the toothpaste issue, we have changed our procedures and will offer the complimentary toothpaste on a needed basis. I apologize this was not in the process during your stay here though. If you plan on visitng Anchorage again, please visit us again to see the changes we are making every day.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage

Address: 4555 Union Square Drive, 4555 Union Square Drive, Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.