We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4555 Union Square Drive, 4555 Union Square Drive, Anchorage, AK 99503   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #3 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn in Anchorage is a very warm place in both atmosphere and hospitality. The restaurant food was good all day, and the staff made sure that we were well served. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We appreciate you recommending our great hotel. We've made some changes in our restaurant and it's being noticed. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    80
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
68
64
25
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We came in late one night after a trip from Homer. We needed showers and to dry out some of our gear. Basically, we were greeted by a woman at the front desk who initially said we did not have a reservation. I asked her to please look again. She denied again that we had a reservation... only to see that there was a note in front of her regarding our late check in time. After we got our luggage, we were informed that there was a luggage cart, "just over there" (woman pointing, not leaving the front desk). So we brought our luggage in, upstairs, while the front desk clerk and a random shuttle guy stood around. Besides being tired, I was livid.
We were only able to book a two-queens room at the elevated price $279. And we were not able to ask for a late check out until the day shift came on (coming in at 3am, we were not getting up to ask for an extra hour). We were also informed that breakfast was available for $14.95/person the next morning.
Bottom line: I wouldn't stay here again - when I asked to speak to management the following morning, they informed me that the front desk woman was not able to leave the front desk or she would be written up, as she is the only person on duty at night. The gentleman that was standing around was the shuttle driver, and should not have been there - the manager on duty said she would speak with his boss, who happens to be over at the Homewood Suites. The manager stated that the shuttle driver was not able to help with any luggage, either. While the sheets were clean, the rest was not comfortable and I left feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Kate L,

I really appreciate your comments here on TripAdvisor. There is always something we can work on and it seems that there are quite a few things to work on for our overnight shift. I am going to address these issues with the managers for the front desk and transportation. Please let me make it clear that we do not write up our front desk agents if they leave the front desk. It is not how we conduct business and I am extremely upset that you endured this type of customer service. As it sounds like this might have been a vacation for you, I want to sincerely apologize. When you get a chance, could you please call me at 907-729-7000 or you can email me at Erik.Mendoza@Hilton.com. I'd like to ask you a few other questions and see how we, as a Hilton brand, can change your mind on the brand. I look forward to being in contact with you.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Highly recommend Hilton Garden Inn for location. Lots of restaurants with in walking distance. Close to airport. Great friendly staff at front desk and restaurant. Very relaxing lobby. I look forward to my next visit to Alaska and The Hilton will be my choice for stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear MLJORDAN52,

We appreciate your comments here on TripAdvisor. The comment about our staff makes me very happy with how we are moving forward with a whole new outlook on customer service. I am very pleased that you had a great stay and look forward to your next visit from Houston.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here twice. The room is spacious and clean. The service was outstanding and they have a shuttle that picks you up at the airport and also one that will take you downtown to hang out. Free coffee in lobby and they have laundry facility as well as gym and indoor pool. If you go downtown eat at Humpy's. They have great fresh halibut fish and chips and great beer. Man vs food went there as well as triple d's. great food

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear m_hanson,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment here on TripAdvisor. Being that we are not located in the downtown area, our complimentary shuttle service is a great option if guests do not rent a vehicle. Besides the airport and downtown, we also have a scheduled stop at Dimond Mall on the south side of Anchorage. But yes, if our guests decide to take our complimentary shuttle downtown, we always recommend Humpy's as a definite stop. We hope that if you decide to visit Anchorage again, that you allow us to make your reservation here at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is clean and well designed. It also has amazing staff who do a great job at being helpful! We had a great stay here!! We were here for our son's birthday, so we used the pool and breakfast buffet. Everyone was so kind when they found out it was his birthday. The staff were very friendly and personable, and it was obvious that they really took pride in their jobs. Everyone, from the front desk to the cleaning crew, greeted us and wished us a great stay! Isn't that GREAT customer service?! We had a wonderful experience with this hotel, and we plan to be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Jenifer B,

Reading your comments here on TripAdvisor definitely brought a smile to my face! We have been focusing a lot on customer service and how that makes someone's stay much more enjoyable. Please let us know if you need us to make the reservation for your next stay.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in room with two queens. A tad spendy at $229 but market rate. Room was clean and spacious. Staff was very accomodating, breakfast was great - made to order and all the other goodies on the side.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Duane0621,

I appreciate you taking your time to let the public know about our great hotel. It is great to hear when someone comments on our staff and how they took care of our guests. Please let us know when you'll be back in Anchorage so we can make your reservation for you.

Sincerely,

Erik Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cointrin, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel was really useful as it is close to the airport and offers a free shuttle.

The hotel is pretty comfortable, clean, with a nice bed. The view from our room was on a roof, so that was a downside.

They split our reservation in 2 when I gave them, by e-mail, my HHonors number, which caused for them not to find the second room when we arrived.

There is nowhere to get have a drink outside of meal hours, so we had to go across the road to TGI Friday's.

The women that served in the restaurant was just great!!! Service was really good.

All together, it was a nice hotel, for 1 night near the airport.

You can read a full review on my blog (in French but you can Google translate it) here: http://www.partirenvacances.ch/wordpress/?p=1209

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Philie4U,

Thank you for your response on TripAdvisor! We are glad you were able to enjoy your time here and take advantage of our great staff and complimentary shuttle service. Please feel free to call upon us if you visit Anchorage again.

Sincerely,
Erik Mendoza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage

Address: 4555 Union Square Drive, 4555 Union Square Drive, Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#4 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.