We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry we reserved” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Qupqugiaq Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Qupqugiaq Inn to your Saves list
Qupqugiaq Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   640 West 36th Ave., Anchorage, AK 99503   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 121 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Lake Worth, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sorry we reserved”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We never actually stayed at hotel because when we drove in front and saw what type of area it was in, the back of the hotel gave to a car wreck/car parts area. The whole area is mid downtown, looking like an industrial part, not at all in a typical tourist area. A very busy main street right in front, with cars and trucks passing constantly.
I had gotten the impression from their site and the photos that the hotel was
10 minutes out of town (more forestry) than in town, almost by itself. We never went in to even see the motel and asked the shuttle driver to take us to the next big name hotel that the next passengers where going too.
The outside photos are true, they have cleverly cut out the front very busy street and the surrounding area. I had even called the hotel and got the impression it was really outside of town practically nothing around except maybe one restaurant. They really didn't "explain" the location of the hotel either when I had called to ask about it and as a person from Florida
who comes to visit Alaska for the first time and this is the first big city we visit, this was very deceiving. I cant believe that no one on Trip advisor talked about this on the recommendations page. Wonder if it was cut out? So please if you are used to normal to high quality hotels find another one or you might find yourself paying your whole room and second one when you see this one.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    12
    17
    34
See reviews for
22
33
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this place by a friend, heard great things, but were sorely disappointed. The location isn't bad, the rooms were clean, but everything else was chaos. Every time a door closes, the entire building shakes and it sounds like it's right next to you. The rooms were too hot to have the window closed but the street too noisy to have them open. From 8:30-10:30, housekeeping incessantly knocked on the door, we got walked in on twice, then when we returned back to the room after being gone for a few hours, the room was exactly as we'd left it. Also, when we tried to shower, the water ran for 6 mins and was just as cold from beginning to end. When we talked to the manager, she said someone had switched a flip, and he would be back in a half hr, and he would he able to flip the switch back on. Apparently no one else in the building was capable of flipping a switch. There was construction going on, and we expected this, and it was immensely less noticeable than everything else that was going on. It is clean and it is cheap, that's all it's got going for it. We didn't stay the second night, they thankfully refunded us our money and we checked out. Easily the most stressful vacation stay ever.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

An interesting stay at this inn. A day before our arrival we found out through TripAdvisor that there was a renovation going on. It would be nice if the owner told us that and a discount would be a good service. The manager/owner (?) was very chaotic (couldn't find the keys,promised us a better room but without her knowing there was somebody already in that room etc.) her intention is good though.The rooms are simple but OK, our rooms where clean but there where some things broke. For this price in a city where hotels are expensive this is a reasonable hostel price and stay. The location is poor, next to a busy road and a lot of homeless people in the area, they don't bother you but it creates an atmosphere. It's a 7 minute drive to downtown, walking is too far.
We came back a few days later, we already booked it and I have to be honest that we looked around for other places to stay because we are not a big fan of Anchorage but almost everything was full or too far away so we went back to Qupqugiaq. The lobby was almost done and looked very nice. The manager couldn't appreciate the compliment, she was totally done with the renovation, not very professional. Despite everything we had an OK stay here. If you can let go of your hotel mentality and see it as a hostel you can have a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the parking lot side and on the first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this place, but those were far from what we expected. The whole place was a construction area and nothing seemed to be finished. Breakfast area: only a small spot left and covered up with dust. "Reception" was a tiny spot where wires were sticking out everywhere!
The looks of it all was rather depressing. Perhaps one could argue that the price is affordable, hence one has to lower the expectations, but we stayed in far better places for just a few dollars per night extra.
We certainly understand that renovating is necessary and cannot be done without any inconvenience, but this should be mentioned at booking and perhaps the owners could consider not attacking the entire place at once, but finish room by room?
We were happy we got out of there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Place was an construction site, but they made no mention of it at the time of booking. Blue tarps lined the corridors to minimize the intrusion of sheetrock dust. What a mess. The 'lounge' where people we to have morning coffee and breakfast was a construction staging area. Junk everywhere.

When asked about getting our deposit back, the manager gave the same old story that he did not have authorization and that the owner was out of town.

We did check the room. It smelled bad. Carpet was filthy as was the whole room. Place was a disaster.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
archer
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

They called it remodeling, which I could have excused, but it was a disaster. Nothing like the website at all. The room smelled bad. The rug was filthy and had not been vacuumed in a very long time. The sheets and spread were wrinkled and very worn; I pulled back the sheet to check the mattress and there was a bare mattress (no pad); the pillows under the cases were yellow and stained horribly. Deal breaker. Windows open, big mosquitoes in room. Saw the breakfast area, cereal in container but not much else. Junk piled everywhere. But the deal breaker was the smell of the room and the nasty pillows. Management said the smell was from 'new chairs' (vinyl from China, but I would disagree). I looked at several rooms, several were in a bit better condition, but we just could not stomach the smell or bedding condition. We thought it would be a quirky hostel-like experience based on the website, but it was dirty and smelly. Nasty pillows. The smell and dust triggered kid's allergies, so we left an untenable situation without unpacking. Never have seen a place like this, with relatively good earlier reviews, fall so short. Something is obviously wrong.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms might be a little cleaner; downstairs corner room is a disaster
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Firstly, We had been on a week long road trip from Salt Lake City, UT to Anchorage, AK; Therefore, we were pretty tight on cash when we arrived. The "Q" inn was definitely affordable for us students - we paid $50 for a night. That being said the price in it of itself was perfect for someone who was looking for a place to crash in an expensive city like Anchorage.

Secondly, yes the inn was going through heavy remodeling, but anyone thinking about staying there within the next few weeks should ignore the comments regarding the construction and realize that they will be finished with the renovations very soon. To be honest, the place will look very nice when it is finished - they are making some great improvements with the lobby area and it will also going to be the first common carrier in the northern hemisphere to offer Pods (for all you travelers out there).

Lastly, the place itself has got a good vibe. It is honestly one of those locations that you will definitely have stories for. Anyone who is looking to re-live their past years in school or other travels should definitely look into the "Q" inn. The management is definitely very hospitable and has a great vision for the inn. As a matter of fact, Jennifer, from management, has several philanthropic projects in the Northwest and Haiti for anyone who is into that area.

In conclusion, we were able to see, sleep, and enjoy Anchorage for the days we were there; we definitely suggest others stay at the inn and see for themselves what good vibes come out.

Room Tip: A unique thing about the "Q" inn is that each room has a different "country" the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qupqugiaq Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qupqugiaq Inn

Address: 640 West 36th Ave., Anchorage, AK 99503
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Qupqugiaq Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great lodging choice while in Anchorage, Qupqugiaq Inn has twenty-five rooms. The architecture is remarkable, full of flowing curves, organic materials, and a high level of craftsmanship. We hope that this artistry expresses a spirit of care that you will enjoy during your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Qupqugiaq Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qupqugiaq Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qupqugiaq Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.