We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable, resourceful and homey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qupqugiaq Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Qupqugiaq Inn to your Saves list
Qupqugiaq Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   640 West 36th Ave., Anchorage, AK 99503   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 121 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Milwaukie, Oregon, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“affordable, resourceful and homey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here - funky creative environment and lots of interesting people. Great free wifi everywhere in the building, full of character. Sometimes the staff was under pressure but they were also very helpful and very resourceful.

Room Tip: bring slippers, shower gel and coffee creamer be prepared to help others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    12
    17
    34
See reviews for
22
33
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed in a single room at this hostel. The room was comfortable and on the other side of the building from the hostel itself. Nothing exceptional, just a clean room at an affordable (by Alaska standards) price. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed in Qupqugiaq Inn, while visiting Alaska because of Lonely Planets choice. It was great! We had a room with a private bathroom, and was able to keep a close eye on our vehicle. I really love the craftsmanship and customer service that was given. Our room was clean, and they offered my wife an extra blanket because she gets cold easy. Most hotels I stay at don't allow the extra linen and I did appreciate that. We didn't care for the Mexican restaurant , but we liked Simon and Seafort downtown. There is a nice trail close to the public library that we went to one afternoon and took some great pictures of the mountains. I had read the reviews that were so bad , and think that the people who wrote them must have expected a 5 star hotel. It is a very earthy, clean and humanitarian privately owned hotel, not a corporate monster hotel,. By the way, the wi-fi worked great outside.

Room Tip: There is a nice french restaurant called Jens , that has authentic French food, or a German restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Qupqugiaq Inn was a highlight of my trip to Alaska. I didn't want a standard chain hotel or bed and breakfast, and it didn't seem like there were a lot of independent hotels in Anchorage. Qupqugiaq Inn definitely has character! Each curve and cranny is unique. the room I stayed in was the Cuba room, on the ground floor, and, though not large, it had a beautiful carved bed, antique desk, and decorations from Cuba. I had a great time talking with fellow travelers in the common areas upstairs, as I cooked and ate dinner with my wife in the shared kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there because of Lonely Planet suggestion and I am really wondering if they have ever been in that place.

It's just a very dirty and dodgy hostel/hotel. I couldn't see if there was a carpet, because there was so much dust and sand on the floor. The sheets are old and with holes. In the kitchen don't try to find any spoon, because it's not any. To get a mug was also a luck. And the people who stayed there seemed to fit the scenery - looking angry and depressed.

When someone calls, random people pick up the phone and don't bother to pass a message. It was in our case when our guide called hostel 3 times to let us know that he will be late. I was going back and forth to the "let's-call-it-lobby" checking if someone called, but nobody bother to leave a note for us.

Very bad experience. That's all.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked a private room in this place without checking any reviews because it came recommended by lonely planet. We can only imagine they have stayed at an entirely different hotel. We've stayed at bad places before, but not many as bad as this. There was no breakfast, coffee or home made bread, 1 towel to share (because their other towel was in the laundry) and the room was disgusting.

There were small brown things on the ground I didn't dare touch, walking in the room without shoes was out of the question. Getting on the bed didn't help much either since there was a big piece of hardened gum spread out on the sheets with hairs sticking out, probably courtesy of the previous visitors.

A big massive plus for this hotel is that it makes every other place seem like a palace. But seriously: stay away! If you find yourself accidentally near this hotel just ask the locals on the street for directions, they will tell you how bad it is and point you to much nicer, and cheaper, hotels in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We looked everywhere in Anchorage for a hostel that we could take our family to and Qupqugiaq was by far the best choice. They have rooms with private bathrooms or you can share. They also have a common area with a kitchen, dinning, computers, and a small reading area stocked with books which was always kept clean. You will always be greeted with a hello and really great staff that cares about there work and the people. The inn keeper offered a very great family enviroment and gave a place for the kids to play as well took time to talk with you and treated you not as just a guest but part of the Qupqugiaq family..... Thanks Again Jennifer from Christine, Christopher and baby Kaelyn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qupqugiaq Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qupqugiaq Inn

Address: 640 West 36th Ave., Anchorage, AK 99503
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Qupqugiaq Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great lodging choice while in Anchorage, Qupqugiaq Inn has twenty-five rooms. The architecture is remarkable, full of flowing curves, organic materials, and a high level of craftsmanship. We hope that this artistry expresses a spirit of care that you will enjoy during your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Qupqugiaq Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qupqugiaq Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qupqugiaq Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.