We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arctic Fox Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arctic Fox Inn
Save
You added Arctic Fox Inn to your Saves list
327 East Second Court, Anchorage, AK 99501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 121 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Arctic Fox this summer in room number 3. We checked in at around 8:30 which was a little later than our original expected time. Carol showed us to our private apartment and made us feel right at home. She told us of some great restaurants close by and we decided to go to the Slippery Salmon (which was only about a 5 minute walk). We had a great nights sleep and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. We will recommend this place to all of our friends!

Room Tip: Room number 3 has a great view of Sleeping Lady!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Ah, maizyjane, we remember you and your handsome man with the remarkable sense of humor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Arctic Fox and hope we will see you on one of your returns to this part of Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    42
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
55
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

its a very nice newly remodeled place, carol was a great host , roooms are very comfortable , great breakfast highly recommended, for the area and the price is great , we rented a 2 bedroom apartment which was amazing for 5 people

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We certainly enjoyed having your group of five visit us a short while ago. What a fun, international mix you brought to our Inn during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We cannot fault this place. The welcome from Carol...and the milk to allow us to make tea after
our late arrival, the lovely cooked breakfasts, the packed breakfast when we needed to leave at 5.30am the next day, taxi bookings and restaurant bookings. On our return we had the pleasure of staying for another 3 days. The apartment was immaculate, beds comfortable and we were able to leave our cases there for the last day when we had a midnight flight.. Lovely place, lovely people...don't miss it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, General Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We felt privileged to have your fun group stay with us during several days of your Alaska vacation. Thank you for your kind words. Thank you for making Arctic Fox one of your stops!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Thanks Larry and Allen for your warm hospitality. Beth and I felt welcomed each time we stayed which was 4 times in 10 days at your properties. Luved the breakfast, decorated rooms and view of the trains. We are train foamers, sort of! Beds were comfortable. Great location. Can't wait to receive our comfortable t-shirt. "Slept around with Larry and Allen" Thanks again.

Room Tip: Views at the Arctic Fox Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Train Foamers",

You two brought a special energy to Arctic Fox, though your time here was short. Thanks for staying the night with us and know that we enjoyed having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

ADMINISTRATION - From reservations to check out the process was perfectly organized, better than some hotel experiences I've had. They graciously accommodated our last minute flight delay, calling to personally confirm at they would work around whatever time we needed to check in.

ROOMS - I only saw the inside of the room i stayed in but I was pleasantly surprised by the modern decor with a boutique hotel room feel. I had a shared bath that you wouldn't even know was being shared. It wasn't as modern as the room but it was very clean and got the job done.

STAFF - everyone was so nice. From the woman who checked us in the guy who cooked us breakfast. They gave us tips on where to go and what to see. Very nice and helpful.

BREAKFAST - there is something for everyone here ...I'm a vegetarian and my boyfriend is a big meat eater we were both really happy with the spread. Eggs, sausage, yogurt, cereal, breads, fruit, etc., etc. literally if you want it they probably have it.

VALUE - worth every penny. I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We enjoyed having you visit us at the Arctic Fox. Thanks for your kind words. It is our wonderful guests who make this business so fun and worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed at the Arctic Fox in mid-August. As I understand it, this is an old apartment building the interior of which has been substantially remodeled and made into a comfortable bed and breakfast inn. The outside of the building has no charm to it, but the guest rooms and interior common areas are quite nice and very clean and comfortable. The inn is located in an industrial part of town, about 200 yards from the railroad yard, and so the sounds of train horns and moving freight cars are very noticeable on the railroad yard side of the building. Indeed, I had to request a different room because the noise was bothersome. I must say, however, that once in my room on the other side of the building, I did not hear any sounds coming from the train yard and had a very good night's rest. The breakfast was adequate, but nothing special. The hostess on duty at the time of my arrival was very courteous and helpful. I was scheduled to leave Anchorage the next morning after a week long fishing trip. I had frozen fish in a box and was concerned that it my might thaw if not kept overnight in a freezer. When I mentioned this problem to the hostess, she offered to let me keep my box of fish in their freezer, which I am sure saved the day. I was thankful for her thoughtfulness. The hostess also knew the area very well and was able to direct me to a nearby restaurant that had good food. Overall, for the price, this bed and breakfast offers a clean room with a comfortable bed and courteous staff.

Room Tip: As mentioned in my comments above, the inn is located near a railroad yard. I would recommend askin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for visiting us here at the Arctic Fox. As much as the sounds of the trains seemed a bit too much for you, others come here to hear, and ride, the trains! Those differences are what make our world go round. Anyway, we are glad that you got good rest once we changed your room location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Arctic Fox in mid-August. As other reviews of stated, the outside of the inn needs some help, but the inside was wonderful. We had an apartment on the bottom floor for two nights and moved upstairs to a standard room for a night. Both rooms were wonderful.

Breakfast was delicious and the company of fellow travelers was also lovely. Carol was so inviting and couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. She was a wealth of information about the area and the state.

The location was great and was easily within walking distance of the downtown area and railroad. The surrounding area of the inn was a bit rundown, but I felt safe at all times.

Don't pass up the opportunity to stay in this great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Flower, Manager at Arctic Fox Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are happy when our guests leave happy. You are what make our world here at Arctic Fox the fun place it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arctic Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arctic Fox Inn

Address: 327 East Second Court, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property sits on the edge of downtown Anchorage overlooking the Cook Inlet, AK Railroad train depot, Ship Creek (urban salmon fishing!), historic Government Hill, and one of the only water towers in Alaska. The call of seagulls and a light, salty breeze will remind guests that they're near the ocean, while distant train whistles and the sound of bush planes pay homage to The Last Frontier. Our multiple decks and outdoor seating areas are a great place to relax with your group and enjoy all the perks of being so close to the city and wilderness, which means you can simultaneously take in views of the city and uninhabited mountain ranges.We offer a range of upscale room options, from private rooms with a shared bath to complete two bedroom suites with living area, kitchen & fireplace. All of the beds feature quality linens and luxurious down duvets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arctic Fox Hotel Anchorage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arctic Fox Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.